We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens
160 Union Street, London SE1 0LH, England (Southwark)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,606 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Neighborhood: Southwark
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southwark
Baghdad, Iraq
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice pub, welcoming, calm, great food. Been here several times with family and friends over the summer. It always seems to be pretty busy but somehow calm, never rowdy or crowded etc, so whether you're out with mates, meeting an old friend or on a family weekend in London, it seems to be a welcoming and charming little 'one-size-fits-all' watering hole. The food is definitely good and at very decent prices for London

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pre theatre dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A group of five of us went there prior to heading to the Southwark Playhouse. The beer was good and staff were friendly. Until it came to the food. We ordered with plenty of time to go. However, after about 35 minutes the food still hadn't come out, one of the party had to go and 'self serve' as the staff seemed to be chasing their tails. Note the pub was not busy. The fifth person in our group still hadn't had his food when he went to ask about it, he was told. I didn't realise you were in that group (despite us saying so when we ordered) and the microwave was 'playing up'. When the staff member finally brought the food out he threw the plate down on the table. No apology. When we were leaving someone in our group was told we should have told the kitchen we were in a hurry. And you 'cant hurry the chef'.
I don't think waiting 35-40 minutes on a not busy Saturday early evening warranted being told this. I will not be going back there, neither will I be encouraging any of my friends to go there either.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really really bad! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went here for a quick work lunch. My partner ordered chilli and chips and I ordered a steak pie and mash. 30 mins later I got a horrible carrot casserole with a burnt pie lid served with chips, peas and one piece of broccoli. My partner got cheesy spicy chips 10 mins later. All served with watered down flat coke. No one asked if our food was ok and we left.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of beer, staff a little slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Found this pub via the CamRA app on my phone and the choice of beer was very good. The staff were less sure on wine and didn't have several of their listed options. We didn't eat though did see a very impressive pie going to another patron.

Beer was well kept but staff didn't seem to know too much about it unlike most real ale places. Atmosphere was friendly, a real old fashioned boozer. Pleasingly the volume wasn't up on the now standard TV showing football.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Dickens also viewed

 

Been to Charles Dickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Dickens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.