We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"a local's paradise"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rayyans

Rayyans
169-171 Mitcham Road, London sw17 9pg, England
020 87671234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,348 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"a local's paradise"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is one of the best curry houses in London. It does brilliant food at great prices. Its a simple focuses on excellent service and wonderful ingredients. As a local you always get a warm greeting and see the same familiar faces. The ability to bring your own drink (alcohol) makes it easy to have excellent wine or beer without paying extortionate mark-ups (there is a Sainsbury's just down the road).

If you want a great curry with friendly service in a simple setting, this is your place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been to Rayyans twice in the last few weeks. The food and service are great, it's BYO and great value for money. The restaurant is bigger than most curry restaurants in Tooting and was fairly empty both times we visited but don't let that put you off! Would be a great place for a large groups and the food is much better than other BYO options in Tooting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I went to Rayyan's with my family.
We wanted to try something different and after reading the reviews we decided to check it out.
The restaurant is very clean with professional and attentive staff.
The menu is also very good catering for a wide range of tastes and preferences.
When the food arrived it was nice and hot and served in a professional manner. The quality and freshness of the food is quite apparent and easily beats anything else in tooting.
I definitely recommend this place and would certainly visit it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best in Tooting?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have lived in Tooting since 1999 and have been to 95% of the curry houses. I was very impressed with Rayyans. The style is very similar to spice village and dawat but the food tasted fresher. Despite overeating I had none of the belly ache that I put up with at other places. The afghan lamb curry was a highlight. Also the prices are very cheap and you can BYO alcohol which is a bonus. Go for it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazeballs curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wrote a review of this place a couple of months ago but it has disappeared. It is an absolutely stunning curry. I like a lot of the other Tooting curry places don't get me wrong, but this place is another step above.

Great service and amazing flavours, this place really deserves to do well. Surprisingly, mid-week it can be a bit empty. Don't be put off though, as its' location away from the main curry drag and the bustle of the Broadway probably doesn't help it. It is very, very good and well worth the diversion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rayyans also viewed

 

Been to Rayyans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rayyans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.