We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and See this......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Man, Two Guvnors

One Man, Two Guvnors
Theatre Royal, Haymarket 18 Suffolk Street, London SW1Y 4HT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 1,016 Activities in London
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go and See this......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Absolutely brilliant - loved it.. not from the start. It is slow to start with and after about 10 minutes I was thinking that I had made a mistake - then.. BOOM ... it takes off.
Very, very good and everyone I was with and around me seemed to love it.
Cannot recommend this highly enough o go and see it...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    23
    8
    6
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EXETER
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Laugh out loud funny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Brilliant! Had tears streaming down our faces. Wonderful slapstick and 'audience' participation. First half is particularly funny. Great performances. Very well done interpretation of an 18th century story. If you want cheering up then this will deliver in spades!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“pantomine theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

treat this as a pantomine with audience participation, slapstick routines and gorging of food and you won't be disappointed. Not sure why it got the awards and reviews it did and I'm less convinced why the Americans took it to their hearts given they rarely understand slaptick but that convinced me more than ever this play stands more on its reputation than substance. First half better than the second which dragged slightly. Moments of hysterical laughter and it has very energetic performances especially from the lead but personally don't understand all the fuss.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Laughed so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Fantastic comedy theatre - great cast who looked like they were loving the play. Superb characters, yes some cheesy gags but overall it was incredibly funny.

First half definitely funnier, audience participation too! You simply must see this performance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hysterical Night at the Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This show was fantastic. We definitely attended on a really good night (though in retrospect, I wouldn't be surprised if what seemed like mistakes that ended up very humorous were planned). The cast was fantastic and played so well to the audience. The first act was better, but overall the whole show was very entertaining.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Man, Two Guvnors also viewed

 

Been to One Man, Two Guvnors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Man, Two Guvnors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.