We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #557 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not 5 star luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Got off to a poor start. It was my birthday weekend and my wife rang to ask for a nice room. First response was a grumpy non- committal lack of interest so she tried again and was told they would look at it on the day. They hadn't and we given a room which directly overlooked a massive office next door so the curtains were permanently shut. The good news was that the room was ready and Gianluca on the desk was very pleasant.
The room was not 5 star luxury. It was warm, clean and the bed was comfortable but no different to any three star we have stayed in. The rodent bait behind the cabinet was a bit off putting but at least they're on the case. The bathroom was ok but needs attention.
5 star luxury hotels walk the extra mile. They don't charge for Wifi or the room safe. They don't just give you two measly tea bags. They don't leave just two rather worn out bath and hand towels each. In 5 star hotels, there is always someone to greet you when you come in. Not here. The furniture, too, is very cheap looking. The Courthouse gives you slippers but no robe - odd.
It's strength is its location. Couldn't be better. The TV was fine but two of the Sky sports channels didn't work -no big deal but they would in a 5 star.
So- would we go back? Probably not in its present form. For the money, you can get somewhere much better. If we knew they would make more of an effort and walk the extra mile, then maybe. Refurbishing is taking place next year . Perhaps we'll have another look.

Room Tip: Try asking - but probably won't work because some of the reception staff clearly don't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    285
    147
    86
    67
See reviews for
123
348
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Courthouse is very nice and in a terrific location for shopping, theatres, and anything West End. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious. The only problem is that (presumably because it's a listed building) the windows are not well insulated for sound. We were in room 108 at the back of the hotel, overlooking a service street, and there was intermittent, sleep-disrupting noise all night, from bottles being emptied into a recycling container, to HGV lorries arriving to make deliveries. Really spoilt our big night out, and our stay there :-(

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and with as little outside noise as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Courthouse many times across the past several years, since my husband is often in London for business. I have always loved its unique architecture (a former prison) and fantastic location. However, my last few stays have been disappointing. It started with small hiccups like no reliable internet access but has grown to more serious lapses in service. On our latest stay, we called the morning of our arrival to see if we could secure an upgrade and to see if it might be possible to have our room ready for our early arrival. After being on the phone for at least 10-15 minutes, we received confirmation that both would be possible and were assured the changes had been made in the system. When we arrived, there was no upgrade and no room available. In fact, we were told all rooms in the hotel had been sold out. We spent another 10-15 minutes arguing with the front desk staff that we had, just 3 hours earlier, spoken to an employee who made the changes for us. We even gave the employee's name and were simply told "he got off at 9." I understand that these things can happen but there was no apology and no effort to accommodate us, despite the amount of money we were spending on hotel and meeting rooms over several days. Furthermore, the concierges don't seem to know the city, even the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here several times during the past few years, when it was part of the Hilton chain and have always found it to be very good. However this recent trip of 3 days was extremely disappointing. We were not offered help with our luggage and we had 2 large cases. We had no bath robes in the bathroom and I asked if they could provide some, none arrived I went to find a rep from housekeeping the next morning and was provided with 2 . We had a problem with the safe, it wouldn't lock and in spite of asking 3 times for it to be repaired it still was not working when we checked out. On our second night a mouse ran across the entrance to the bar and under a settee in reception/ lounge area, hardly 5 star. The bedrooms were cold and the however high the temperature was set, it made little difference.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent 4 nights here. Given a three star review mainly for its location and the concierge staff. The young lady who checked us in didn't tell us about where the breakfast room was and the time of operation. We had to call down the next morning. Also we had "pre-ordered" a bottle of red wine to our room, which we had to call to have them deliver.

The breakfast buffet was so so. The coffee tasted like instant coffee. My husband like his tea, however. There were some warm items. Tried the bacon (looked like Canadian bacon) and it was so tough I couldn't eat it. They had yogurts but they were not on ice. Who wants warm yogurt?

The hotel room was rather dark, but it was comfortable enough. Liked the closet space. The bathroom sink and tub did not drain well and the water would go from hot to cold while showering.

They had free wi-fi in the lobby which was horribly slow.

The hotel is in a very nice location, near theaters and shopping and restaurants. It is not well marked, however. We walked right by it the first time and had to check the addresses of nearby stores and retrace our steps.

We used the "car service" to get to the airport which is the way to go. They have a driver pick you up at the appointed time and drop you off at the terminal. Our fee was 55 Euro and worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel was wonderful, being almost opposite LIBERTY, and there we no glaring issues- but many many not so great matters - there was nothing to warrant the star rating of this hotel. It has potential- but no-one has taken the trouble to recognise this and act on it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel around Regent Street, Oxford Street and Carnaby street. Perfect for a stay in London especially if you want to go shopping. Nice, clean rooms. Our room had window to the back-yard and was very quiet all night long. Personnel very helpful in ordering shuttle to the airport at a nice rate. Good breakfast, if you choose full breakfast(both english and continental) it was quite expensive. We chose one day of each. Would definitely come back to this hotel next time I go to London.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of London’s bustling shopping and theatre district, the Courthouse offers a great location for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features with a modern twist. While staying with us you can enjoy a meal in Silk restaurant who has been converted from the old Number One court, relax in Sanook Spa or enjoy a cocktail on our roof terrace or in one of the cell in the bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.