We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #557 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

we went here for a champagne lunch, the hotel looked very nice and the food was excellent the service was very good , we stayed about an hour so not much to say about the rest of the hotel the outside was in a tree line road with lots of shops and bars by it so they would be lots to do .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    286
    147
    86
    68
See reviews for
123
349
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a one night stop over in London before travelling into the country and we had booked a show in West End, so the location was absolutely perfect. The hotel was within walking distance of Buckinham Palace, Palace of Westminster and Trafalgar Square as well as being only a short walk from the theatres. Upon arrival we were met by a porter who took our bags and brought us into the hotel. The lobby was nicely furnished and the room was adequate although the bathroom was a little dirty. We paid $535 for a Superior Room and we were informed at reception that we had been given an upgrade. However, even though the room cost so much, we still had to pay for WiFi in the room which was a major sticking point. All in all, a very convenient place to stay, with comfortable furnishings, but just not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is my third stay at the Courthouse and by far the worst. You can't beat the location, as it is down the street from my office and in the middle of a bustling area. The staff is great, but maintenance is highly lacking. There were large stains all over the carpet. As someone else noted, random couches are in the hallways. The hook for the shower head was broken. The shower sputtered water all over the bathroom and created a mini-flood each morning. We were on the side facing an alley and there was trash clanging every night. Also wired internet was available for a (high) cost. When I called to ask about wifi, I was told that I would need to wait until Maintenance came in the next morning so they could bring a router to my room.

If I had found another hotel that could accommodate me and my family on short notice, I would have gladly moved. We stayed for a few days at a value hotel in another part of town and it was much friendlier and more comfortable. It also cost in dollars what this place cost in GBP under a corporate rate!

I will not be returning, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel, and a great location for a London stay. When I stayed at this hotel there was some building work being carried out, disruption was however kept to a minimum. I upgraded to a suite which was extremely nice, very impressed with the building and thr shower was good. breakfast is small but well presented. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When we initially found the hotel we were surprised by how centralised it was within London which for us was an added bonus. We were 1hour 30 mins early for our check in and was really hoping to drop our bags off, luckily the receptionist handed us the keys and said our room was ready which was a great result. We were told that our room had been upgraded- extra result. Unfortunately as we went upstairs you could instantly see the faults, or should I say un expected surprises. The carpets were either frayed/ripped and also looked dirty, as we walked down the corridor we were excited to see our 'upgraded' room. The room was very brown and leather looking, once again inadequate carpets, a mini bar with a door that wouldn't shut properly, a chair with spikes poking out which i must add went straight into my hip ripping a small hole into my dress. Our view was basically a backstreet dead end, garages and constant noise that sounded like smashing glass that went on throughout until early hours of the morning. We failed to understand how this was an upgrade and couldn't work out how bad it would have been in the original room we had booked. The bed was two single mattresses put together which is one of my pet peeves and there was a lack of suitable pillows (one huge brown thing and a couple thick & heavy white pillows) Nothing that compared to our previous stay in London at another hotel. The wardrobes lacked hangers and the little things such as a pen would have been handy (they provide paper but no pen). The shower was confusing, there was a normal shower head in it's usual place and then a shower head on the lower left hand side at knee length and then a huge tap back against the wall, so all in all there wasn't much room to stand unless you get prodded by taps or extra shower heads which ideally weren't required. The wifi wasn't included in the room (very rare you have to pay on top now a days, should have been included). In all honesty me and my partner aren't fussed about the nitty gritty aspects of a hotel however when we paid £200 for a nice night in London we sort of expect better quality- the pictures on their website are far, far too flattering of the hotel itself; it's somewhat misleading. The breakfast we were very excited about and unfortunately we missed our alarm and so we headed down at around 9ish. To our surprise it wasn't a 'cook fresh breakfast' they had heaters with cooked food in (your standard fry up). The bacon was hard and layers of grease on (may I add that it was cold), the mushroom were watery and cold and lacked flavour bar loads * loads of salt, there were no fried eggs only scrambled, sausages were piled in their hundreds even though there was around 3 occupied tables, beans were warm and the hash browns were cold and chewy. I must add that from 9 & 10:30 which is when we were sat int he rbeakfast room, not once did they replace the cooked food, all they did was replace the heated burners which kept the food 'hot'. The standards were very low on this occassion and we couldn't comprehend why they couldn't cook the breakfasts as and when guests required them. This was not what we expected and if we had a choice we would have not paid for it. Scary to think they charge in excesss of £20 per person for their 'cooked' breakfasts. The cold items were 'OK', warm OJ & milk, mountains of un touched fruit, bread was okay- very standard and the toaster either undercooked it or singed the crusts. Cups of tea were average also. One thing I will compliment is the staff, they were always on hand to collect un used items or dirty plates etc and also very welcoming. The receptionist definitely was always there at point of call and very polite. We used the concierge also which was very hand and didn't cost- added bonus. Overall we will not be using this hotel again, I think some issues need to be seriously looked at in regards to standards of their food and also health and safety of the rooms. It's fortunate that we had a great time in London and didn't let the room get us down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are interested in shopping, this is in a wonderful area. The hotel, however was a disappointment. There were couches in the hallways which also were covered with sawdust. Our room faced the street and it was one of the worst nights of sleep I have had. The staff was friendly enough but some had such heavily accented English I couldn't understand them. Carnaby Street is right across the road from the hotel and the crowds late into the night were loud, followed by street cleaners and garbage pickup. I didn't need the wake up service to catch my flight. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhyl, north wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay at the courthouse hotel this past weekend,very quick check in as the room was ready early,very courteous staff,
Room facilities were good aswell,enjoyed the bar area,very quirky with the jail cells converted into seating areas,
All in all a very nice stay and would visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of London’s bustling shopping and theatre district, the Courthouse offers a great location for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features with a modern twist. While staying with us you can enjoy a meal in Silk restaurant who has been converted from the old Number One court, relax in Sanook Spa or enjoy a cocktail on our roof terrace or in one of the cell in the bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.