We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great London location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great London location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

First time staying at the Courthouse Hotel.

Arrived late morning so well ahead of earliest checkin time however the receptionist was very friendly and upgraded us to a bigger room, with immediate access. We also requested a couple of hours later checkout on the Sunday and that was granted without any issues

Room was a good size for London and we had a room at the back so protected from the noise on Great Marlborough Street. Only downside and hence not a 5* was some visible signs of damp on the bathroom ceiling

Overall, found the staff very friendly and would certainly stay again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    287
    147
    86
    68
See reviews for
124
349
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Courthouse Hotel in in superb location for shopping, bars restaurants & theatres.
Great hotel, very clean, superb staff. Good food in the hotels restaurant. Not over priced. Will be back, had a great time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location. Roof top bar. Friendly staff. Nicely furnished. Pool and steam room very nice.

But a luxury hotel shouldn't have issues like...

-burnt our bulbs
-shower water that fluctuates in temperature
-broken curtain holder
-poorly working air conditioner
-tough to open window
-spotty in-room wireless internet...and with a daily fee!! :(
-broken shower plug

It's hard not to recognize many of these things when the room is serviced daily.

This could be a great hotel if these things are regularly addressed.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevator are smaller. Sixth floor rooms are smoking rooms, but ours didn't smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Decided to take a short break in London .I looked for a hotel in a good location and central to theatre land. This hotel was very well positioned, just of Regents Street and the entrance to the hotel is at the top of Carnaby Street ,The hotel was originally a magistrates court. In the bar area
They still have 3 cells with the toilet in and where you can enjoy a quite drink and a light snack.
The staff are really friendly and easily approachable.

Room Tip: They are currently renovating and many rooms have scaffold across the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear chelseanugget,

Thank you for your kind review. The team are so proud that you recognised their efforts. I am glad that, like so many of our guests, the location was second to none for you.

Kind regards,
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My company put me up in this hotel during a trip to London and my first impressions were straight away marked when I saw dust was on pictures the ceiling was marked with water damage and there was complete disorganisation at the reception.
we went to book in and not one of the 3 staff smiled, they were rude, sarcastic and very unwelcoming, if it had been a choice I could have made I would have walked out there and then and gone some place else, unfortunately it was not my choice. Check in took a good half an hour if not longer and after sorting out the mess up with rooms we finally got to our own room, passing a glass table with a smashed corner and glass all over the floor we find the bed was a double not singles. we had been told they would split the beds but the maids turned up with 2 duvets and not to split the bed just split the bedding and when we tried to communicate with the maids it was impossible and they just did their own thing.
The floor in the bathroom is a death trap and please if you shower put plenty of towels down as you could slip on the marble finish and there is only 1 floor matt to use. There was only 1 half used loo roll and this was of extremely poor quality so was glad I had actually taken my own tissues.
when we tried to charge our electrical items half of the plug sockets didn't work, the tea tray was situated nowhere near a plug socket and the nearest one was one of the many not working .Neither did the air conditioning work, which during a very warm evening was torcher.
The fridge in the kitchen area stank and I would never put food in it there wasn't enough milk on the tea making facilities for even 1 drink .
On a positive I will say the bed was extremely comfortable though I wish the curtains had shut properly so we hadn't been woken as daylight arrived.
For the amount of money that this service cost I was appalled and really the breakfast should have been included even if it was just basic tea and toast.
A sum up-very unpleasant staff ,not luxury, not a 5 star standard, very poor value, but good location. I felt bad for my company having paid so much money for such a poor experience

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear leafylane,

I was disappointed to hear that you felt unwelcomed to the hotel. I have shared this with my team. Many of our reviewers cite how approachable and friendly our team is. On the back of your comments, we have re-grouped to see how we can do it better next time. The maintenance issues in the room are concerning and I have asked my team to review this. I have also highlighted your housekeeping concerns with the Executive Housekeeper. All rooms are prepared for two guests, but we do only set one bath mat in the room. Additional tea and coffee is available on request.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. We do hope to be of service in the future.

Kind regards
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a location, from that prospective, it's just perfect. Once inside and the rooms, it is starting to look a little tired but with top price charges. The room was clean, pleasant and the bed very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which can be best described as mediocre. We went out in the evening and came back and had drinks in the bar which seemed to be a bit like an 80's throw back. The staff were terribly friendly though and that makes up for a lot though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear CazMold,

Thank you for lovely comments about The Bar; Nigel and his team work hard to make sure that everybody has the most delightful time. Pat and the housekeeping team were also so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort level in the room they prepared for you. I have also taken the chance to share your other feedback onto the Chef.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hard to disagree with much of what has been written before. The location is great for sure but the hotel is WAY past its best and feels dated, worn and tired. How on earth they can charge what they do is beyond me. The staff were disinterested, the wifi didn't work, the lift dor took ages to close and the minibar was pitiful. Still, did I tell you about the great location....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Pres1,

Our staff work very hard to ensure that guests have the most pleasant of stays. It is very common for me to see positive comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding the service they deliver. I was naturally disappointed to see that you left our hotel unsatisfied without coming to speak to myself or my team about your stay.

My team are at our guest's disposal 24hours a day. Please never hesitate to contacting them,

Kind regards,
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of London’s bustling shopping and theatre district, the Courthouse offers a great location for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features with a modern twist. While staying with us you can enjoy a meal in Silk restaurant who has been converted from the old Number One court, relax in Sanook Spa or enjoy a cocktail on our roof terrace or in one of the cell in the bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.