We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but could be Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Very Good, but could be Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spent a long weekend at the end of May and really enjoyed it. The location can not be bettered, just off Carnaby St & Oxford Circus and not far to Piccadilly & Covent Garden.

The hotel itself was really good, our room was very spacious & fully equiped. The spa is small, but as it isn't claimed to be anything big, then it is more than adequate.

Individual staff service was good (especially at the bar), but the management of the staff should really have been better for such a hotel. Breakfast was good on variety, but cold eggs, beans, bacon etc means I have to say medium on quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear DMC28283,

I am so happy to see that overall you had an enjoyable long weekend with us. The Sanook Spa is a small oasis within the hotel and makes for a lovely break away from the hectic pace of Oxford Circus! I have passed your feedback regarding breakfast on to my colleagues, thank you
for sharing this.

The Bar, located in the lobby is a great place to enjoy a drink after a full day, thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass them onto Nigel and his team. We are also happy to advise that our roof top terrace, the Soho Sky Bar is now open. The Soho Sky Terrace is open 7 days a week over the summer months and is also under Nigel's watchful eye. We hope you will be back to enjoy this venue.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    287
    147
    86
    68
See reviews for
124
349
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

No free WIFI in rooms. This location is very central to shopping but very congested traffic area! This room is expensive but is a premium location. Lobby with low uncomfortable furniture that sits low.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on back of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manger at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Rev Mark J,

Thank you for comments. At times, central London traffic can be known to get slightly congested. The position of The Courthouse Hotel does mean that you’re only moments away from many of London’s main attractions. At the entrance of the hotel is Carnaby Street, a pedestrian only street. Regent Street, which is only a moment away, has a bus lane in each direction allowing for quick transfers and the Tube station is located just behind the hotel.

I am also happy to advise that each Sunday in July, Regent Street will playing host to “Summer Streets” a traffic free day with pop activities.

It will be an exciting month on our door step.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a very enjoyable afternoon tea at the Courthouse hotel. A nice selection of sandwiches and patries and we did not leave hungry. The champagne was also lovely. The staff could not have been nicer. It was disappointing that two people (possible hotel management) were having a lengthy and sometimes loud business meeting in addition to making phone calls and were not there for afternoon tea. This unfortunately affected the atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear peadarob,

Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass them onto the Carnaby Restaurant team. I am sorry that your meal was disturbed by some other guests. At times people do have meetings over a coffee at the hotel’s restaurant. The hotel’s staff and management have alternative spaces for such meetings.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel during Whitsun week. The location is amazing - a block from Oxford Circus tube. The hotel itself is quite funky - the bar has "jail cells" with toilets as seats! The rooms are very nice but just average size. The service is good - and the single breakfast in the room was enough to feed 5! The only downside is that it isn't easy to find - the entrance is very small within a row of shops without any obvious signs. Neither the policeman nearby nor the shop staff two doors down could tell me where it was - they'd never heard of it! There was a spa/pool but we didn't know about it so we didn't use it, but we will remember for next time as it is a great feature with kids and very unusual for downtown London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear teegeegeegee,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, I was so happy to read that you enjoyed the service and amenities at the hotel. There is a small irony in the fact the policeman didn't know where the Courthouse was! but in their fairness we have been a hotel for just over 10 years.

The Courthouse is a Grade II listed building. As a result of this listing, we have not been able to change the façade of the hotel to increase the front door presence. After feedback such as yours, the hotel now has more prominent planters on the street, embroidered the welcome mats with the hotel logo and displays the hotel's flag on the flag pole. The hotel also has discreet signage on the front which help identify the street number.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and we hope you get a chance to use the swimming pool.

Kind regards,
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

On first arriving both my partner and I walked right past it but we got there in the end. Upon arrival our room was lovely however the view wasn't we were basically looking at the side of the building, bonus was we heard no traffic. We ordered room service twice, and that was all good and the service was awesome, but reception wasn't helpful although the concierge when we left, even took our bags out and was super helpful offering the best advice to get to local tube stations. My opinion is that some of the staff are helpful and friendly, were some are not helpful at all, and made it seem like it was out of their way to help. Our mini bar wasn't restocked at all during our stay which it was supposed to be either.

The location was good and we were close to everything we wanted which was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear NikkixLx,

Thank you for your recent review, I was so happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. This is most important to the team. The central location is such a benefit to our guests and with the tube close by, London is on your door step. Sadly the hotel doesn't have sweeping views, but the rooms do get natural light and in most cases, when you open your window, there is little to no noise. As you pointed out, this is a great benefit.

We hope to be welcoming you back to the Courthouse.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here in early April having had a good stay previously in Christmas of 2012. The location of the hotel could not be better if Oxford/Street, Soho and Picadilly Circus are where you want to be. Carnaby Street is right opposite, and although there's plenty of activity all day and most of the night, inside the hotel is quite quiet and I have not had a bad night's kip. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and mirrors and the beds are very comfy. The breakfast is of a good standard and has lots of choice both hot and cold. I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. A really good selection of music in-room but no information on what time breakfast is served or when the pool is open. I had to ask someone. and for that reason I have not given it five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Tielle,

Thank you for your review. I had much pleasure in sharing your comments with our team. We love to hear from returning guests. It is so important to an Independent Hotel to have guest returning. It is a pleasure to have you back with us.

Thank you once more for your continued support of the Courthouse Hotel. We look forward to been of service to you in the future.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My mum and I chose this hotel for a night away in london. We arrived to a very polite doorman (shaved head glasses) who was the highlight of our stay. On entering the hotel there only seemed to be one receptionist available who was busy with other guests, while 4 concierge stood around not doing much. Receptionist informed us our room wasn't ready, and gave no details of our stay such as what time breakfast would be, the restaurants available in the hotel, checkout time, or pool opening times. We had to ask for all details as nothing was provided in the room either.

After doing some shopping we arrived back and our room still wasn't ready. We had a spa appointment so didn't get the chance to get ourselves ready beforehand which was frustrating.

The room was really nice, once we could get in it, and couldn't fault it. It was clean and well equipped. we ordered drinks to be bought up to the room which took no time at all.

The website to this hotel boasted a rooftop terrace and a lovely swimming pool. When we went to find the rooftop terrace all we found was a building site on the 5th floor so assuming it's not built as we couldn't seem to find it?!

I asked a member of staff what time the swimming pool opened and it didn't open till 10am. My mum and I went down at 9.50am in the morning to go for a swim before needing to be packed and out of our room for check out. We sat outside the pool entrance area waiting for it to open as it was locked. After waiting patiently for 15 minutes i went up to reception and asked if it could be opened so we could swim. The receptionist was quite rude and suggested i wait another ten minutes then it will be unlocked. I asked if it could be done sooner as we still had to pack and get ready for checkout. I went down and was left waiting for another 15 minutes with no sign of anyone ready to unlock it. We went back to reception and told them we weren't going to wait any longer as we needed to get ready for check out. They didn't seem too bothered. My mum went down to collect the bill from reception and went to see if the pool had been opened. At 10.50 am the pool area was still locked.

On check out we did get an apology from the receptionist who removed our mini bar bill (wish we'd had more from it) and then decided to explain to us that somebody had called in sick.

It was frustrating that we paid £275 for one night and couldn't fully use all the facilities that the hotel boasts. Would of been nice to have a swim and use the terrace and there were no clear directions to where these facilities were in the hotel. It looks like better staff training, or more polite staff might be needed in order to make stays more enjoyable at this hotel.

That being said, great location, great rooms, and the bloke on the door with the shaved head and glasses deserves a raise. Lovely man.

Room Tip: great location, but not 5 star quality service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Emilygracethegreat,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

Firstly thank you for making note of the wonderful work done by Slavomir on the front door. He is a wonderful ambassador and asset for the hotel.

I am terribly sorry about the problems you encountered with the pool opening times. This has been shared with the Spa Manager at the time.

The roof top terrace is normally closed over the dates of your stay and was indicated on our website. As you may have seen from some of the reviews, the hotel did have some work on and part of this work was relocating the roof terrace from the 5th floor to the 6th floor. The roof top terrace is now open. The Soho Sky Terrace is open 7 days a week from 15:00.

We were very happy that you enjoyed the comfort level in the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courthouse Hotel.

Kind regards,
Quentin Hales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of London’s bustling shopping and theatre district, the Courthouse offers a great location for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features with a modern twist. While staying with us you can enjoy a meal in Silk restaurant who has been converted from the old Number One court, relax in Sanook Spa or enjoy a cocktail on our roof terrace or in one of the cell in the bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.