We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location, very friendly service, warm cookie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #583 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice location, very friendly service, warm cookie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice. iI is in a great location - especially for shopping.
Wifi is very expensive (although they have free wifi in the lobby.)
Lobby furniture is too low and trendy - and to hard to get up from!!

As part of the Doubletree chain they have nice warm cookies for you every night. Nice tuch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    306
    171
    104
    75
See reviews for
134
383
58
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice to see smiling face welcome. Was worried bout our tea after reading reviews her but within 10 minutes we had our champagne, tea and sandwiches on table. Waitress came along twice to check our feedback. Big size sandwich.. Cake with orange flavor and sultanas & hot chocolate syrup come shape pastry enjoyed a lot...considering previous comment their is improvement... Worth a try !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

used gift voucher. delicious food, scallops with strawberry were amazing. Indian lamb chops nice delicious. high standard service. waiter was knowledgable. sat on counsellor and solicitor table. will definetly visit in near future and book juries table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was surpsrised by my english friend to have an amaizing experience in this fabulous Courthouse Double Tree by Hilton in London . Before scluptural main entrance, we was invited with sharm and elegant stil to step inside, where an athmosfere of luxury , gracious and best natural furnished sale of guest, the staff of Double Tree waiting for us.. Inside, in the intimately iluminated precincts we was invited in a beautifull corner with a small table for two, and benchs, natural skin covered . All of this and tha wall with black/white photos in stil of 60's years decorated transported us into an other world, with more quiet and peace. The reach and sofisticate menu was acompanied by a very good smelling tea, the drink wich enjoy our soul. In short time we was ravish by sweet dreams. And so, we had became so efervescent as the glas of champaine which was ofering in begining. Congratulation and thank you, We come again, soon. Our regards, E.C.& A.R.T

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great, superb hotel.

All the staff especially the front desk staff where very helpfull and accomodating.
Nothing was too much trouble even when we asked for dorections and a place to eat.
WELL DONE !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just beleive what evryone else has wrote on here, bad service, bad food, bad tea and just a massive dissapointment. Took my nan for her birthday & couldnt actually beleive how bad it was, even when we complained just got more of the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I am on a 6 night business stay at the hotel & am totally underwhelmed.
The locations is absolutely wonderful (at the end of Carnaby St) which is the only reason I haven't checked out.
I am just astonished by the lack of customer service.

It seems they haven't registered I'm here for 6 nights & that's an opportunity to impress me with how well they take care of their guests. No one offered to help with luggage when I checked in. I'm on the 6th floor which stinks of tobacco smoke (as does my room) but I wasn't asked if I wanted a non-smoking room. Also, the room looks tired & a bit run down - why not put me in a nice room? I'm here for a week!!

There is also some archaic pre-authorization they insisted on putting on my card when I checked in despite my booking being made through the huge global company I work for (which, incidentally, is a few doors away. You would think they'd make the connection & realize there's an opportunity to become a preferred hotel for us!)

The reason I'm writing this review mostly is because they charge GBP15 for in-room wireless. When I explained that, given the length of my stay, that was outrageous, they offered me a rate of GBP 10/day! The Ferndale chain would have waived it in an instant, knowing it's a small price to pay to generate good will & return business. Maybe Hilton haven't figured out the cost of acquiring a customer, or know that people will always share disappointing experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of London’s bustling shopping and theatre district, the Courthouse offers a great location for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features with a modern twist. While staying with us you can enjoy a meal in Silk restaurant who has been converted from the old Number One court, relax in Sanook Spa or enjoy a cocktail on our roof terrace or in one of the cell in the bar... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.