We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good cheap food but no seating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koshari Street

Koshari Street
56 St. Martin's Lane | Leicester Square, London WC2N 4EA, England
020 7836 1056
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy, Egyptian, cuisine.name.191
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“good cheap food but no seating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food is quite nice, and its vegetarian which is good. Its healthy but in my opinion, theres still a lot of carbs!

The food is cheap and the portions are big.

Only down side is the seating, its very cramped when there is room available. The seats are too high! When we asked for more cups for the water, they took a very long time to bring them and by that time we had finished our food.

4 stars is for the food - bear in mind the unhelpful staff & lack of seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
56_Koshari, Social Media Manager at Koshari Street, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We are happy you liked the food still. Unfortunately as the shop is very small, there is not much space that we could fit people in. However there is a takeaway option and now we also offer a delivery service through JustEat. We are very sorry that the staff took so long to bring you water. We will make sure this doesn't happen again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's hard to beat Koshari Street for a filling, healthy and delicious meal at a great price in central London. What's koshari? Basically, an Egyptian street food which until now has been unjustly ignored by the rest of the world. It's a mixture of rice, lentils, macaroni and vermicelli, with whole chickpeas, spicy tomato sauce, a spice mix with seeds, garlic vinegar and a sublime quantity of ultra-crispy caramelized fried onions, all piled into a cute banana-leaf bowl (or in a takeaway container). The Egyptian desserts are also delicious, and if you can't decide between the apricot and milk puddings, you can have a pot with both inside! The small meal deal (a large lunch) is a reasonable £7, but the best bargain is a 'small' (actually very reasonably sized) koshari for just £3.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
56_Koshari, Social Media Manager at Koshari Street, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are very pleased. Thank you so much for the nice an thorough review of our dish. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“healty and good street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Koshari is the healtiest food I have eaten in London. And it is meantime very tasty. Very good vegetarian food and big portion at a cheap price. I recommend it. Central location

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koshari S, Manager at Koshari Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We highly appreciate it. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“A real treat at very low prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This tiny restaurant is an excellent fast-food outlet right in the centre of London, 2 minutes from Trafalgar Square, that provides delicious Egyptian food, primarily Koshari, a mixture of rice, lentils, macaroni, chick peas and spices, topped by crisp fried onions. A medium sized helping sets you back £4.50 and will fill you up for most of the day. They will ask you how spicy you want it and you can vary the proportions of the ingredients. You can eat in on bar stools or take out. The place is spotlessly clean and they even have a loyalty card giving you a free meal after six. I will definitely be back, Often!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koshari S, Manager at Koshari Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are very happy with your thorough review. Hope to see you again.Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fast and filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Don't know if it's authentically the Egyptian recipe - and I don't care. But it is absolutely delicious, cheapish and filling. Sauce, seasoning and toppings lift good old veggie standby of lentils and pasta into a league of its own. We've wimped out and gone for the mild tomato sauce which means you can really pick up some subtle flavours like crunchy coriander seeds. Tiny takeaway with a row of bar stools and really only one dish, if you don't count the staff who were both helpful and remarkably handsome. Also to be found on the South bank and at other food markets but really useful here if you've got 15 mins before a show in town. The small pot at £4.50 was plenty. We bought the meal deal with juice and salad for £7.00 and had to take the salads home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koshari S, Manager at Koshari Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Well Koshari is the most famous dish in Egypt. We are extremely happy you liked it. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshari Street also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Koshari Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koshari Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.