We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and delicate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1701

1701
Bevis Marks Synagogue | Bevis Marks, London EC3A7LH, England (City of London)
207 621 1701
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1701 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #487 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and delicate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Am just back from a business lunch at 1701 and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The attention to detail ensured a beautiful presentation of each course.
The chicken was presented as three small towers, the sauce was unusual, the vegetables succulent. I loved it!
Ideal to impress any client , for a a fancy birthday lunch, or just to enjoy Life!
Suitable for any audience, including kosher one.
Good business lunch menu offer.
Very professional service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ferring, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A different experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant on a cut price deal. I have little experience of Jewish Food but am always happy to try new experiences. 1701 is very upmarket and expensive and is a little lacking in atmosphere with a large number of staff on hand. We had not fully appreciated that Jewish food has taken ideas and ingredients from across Europe and North Africa and incorporated them into their own traditional style. The courses were presented along the style of nouveau cuisine and were colourful and elegant. The flavours were sometimes a surprise but not totally unexpected. It seemed quite popular with its mainly Jewish clientele.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I heard good things about 1701 and decided to try it out first hand. The venue is smart and well fitted out, although it lacked a bit of atmosphere. The menu at first seemed odd, but the food was out of this world. The food was prepared and presented at Michelin star standard and tasted great. The service was also excellent.

I look forward to coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Classy kosher restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Finally a white table cloth kosher restaurant in London!
This is the place to go if you keep kosher and want a special meal in London. The service was first class, and attention to detail made the price of the meal more acceptable.
A carefully constructed menu, presentation was fantastic, and tasted great (if a little rich).
Will absolutely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different but exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I visited this restaurant for a business lunch with colleagues. I am not Jewish myself so was unfamiliar with the Kosher Menu. However, the Flanken main course was rich and delicious, and the right portion size for lunch.
For dessert I ordered the Apfelschalet, a sort of apple strudel, with a cassis sorbet, which was light and refreshing and whilst I don't usually care for sorbet, this was the nicest I'd ever had.
The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
The atmosphere was fresh and relaxed while the cuisine is markedly high end.
I would use this again for future working lunches, with either Jewish or non Jewish clients and highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1701 also viewed

 

Been to 1701? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1701, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.