We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok and serves a purpose....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sloe Bar Paddington Station

Sloe Bar Paddington Station
Paddington Station, London, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #13,460 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“ok and serves a purpose....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have been here a couple of times in the past week. I thought the english breakfast was pretty good for the money - with the exception of the sausage which was horrid. The chicken wings with a choice of dips were nice. The coffee and tea are fine. Wine is expensive (£6.50 for a large pinot grigio) but this price is no worse than the other pub at the station. This place serves a purpose - if you have time to kill whilst waiting for a train it works. But it isn't anything special and the staff vary in their helpfulness.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    14
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Food service is very quick but..............”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I’ve been here a few times and up until my experience on Sunday I would’ve given 4 stars. There are definitely worse station bars to while away a delay in. I ate scampi and chips there a few weeks back and although the portion was small it arrived quickly and was OK – slightly watery/defrosted scampi but nothing that got me riled enough to write a bad review. After a dreadful journey to Paddington on Sunday I was really hungry, so ordered the mushroom ravioli. The ravioli arrived quickly and although it was a tiny portion, it looked stunning and was steaming hot so I tucked in. Took me a while to work out why it wasn’t heated uniformly – and at about the same time my fork hit a frozen bit of ravioli. Yup. The middle of my ravioli was frozen solid – about the size of a 20 pence piece. Come on guys – if you are going to reheat stuff, at least do it properly. It made me feel ill for the rest of my journey. Urgh. I won’t be eating here again – possibly will pop in for a beer as the staff are usually friendly and attentive, but will be going elsewhere within Paddington for food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Wanted a reasonable meal before train journey home. Disappointed no Children's menu so had to order frontage adult. Burger that arrived was still raw inside which didn't impress the kids. On the plus side, service was good but that was the only plus

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dont”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Unless every where else is full don't bother trying to eat here. I had the chicken ceaser salad. It takes an expert to ruin a salad. Beleive me they have one in the kitchen. The chicken was grilled but god knows when, then reheated in a microwave, the croutons were stale and the dressing to vinegary. Stick to tea and coffee of you can get any service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sloe by name and SLOW by service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I only wanted a coffee in reasonably nice surroundings. Order taken and then we just sat waiting. Having spoken with the waitress who confirmed that the order had been passed on, she didn't go to check any further but served another customer. Not impressed. Saw the man operating the coffee machines and he took orders from the bar making them up instantly - long after we'd put ours in. Needless to say, we left.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloe Bar Paddington Station also viewed

 

Been to Sloe Bar Paddington Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloe Bar Paddington Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.