We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy to have found La Farola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La farola

La farola
101 upper Street, London, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,843 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very happy to have found La Farola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant today and had the most wonderful time. Staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant...and the food was absolutely lovely. I cannot recommend the pork cheeks enough (may sound odd I know...but trust me!). The min crepe with spinach and sun dried tomatoes was also fantastic..such lovely flavours. Wine list was very good and very well priced...(beginning at a pocket friendly £15 ish up to about £28). Will definitely be back. Absolutely great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stopped by for a drink on a Sunday night, and had a great time. The excellent sherry was well received, and they have a good selection of wines and beers. I did think that the Caipirinha was not quite right and seemed to have a bit too much liquid which diluted the taste- I much prefer them with just crushed ice, sugar and lime.

However, the best thing was the excellent customer service. There was a problem with the croquetas and we sent them back. We just asked for it to be taken off the bill, but immediately they apologised, and took it off the total. But they brought back a new set as well and insisted that we still try them for free anyway! I have to say they were delicious too. And all the other dishes that went passed us looked fantastic as well so we'll definitely be back.

It's that kind of service that will always bring me back to a place, and now I can't wait to try the full menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant sunday afternnon tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned from have a wonder tapas afternoon at La Farola, Upper Street, Islington. The service was professional, efficient and friendly. The two of us had a nice bottle of Cantiga Viura, plus 4 tapas dishes to share which was more than sufficient as the potions were very good; 1. Sardinas Brushettas. 2. Pulpo a la Gallega. 3. Marcon Iberico. 4. Pollo Adobado and some Chargrilled Bread with Olive Oil all of which were excellent and good value for money. This was my first time here but I live locally and will definitely return. One of the better quality eateries on Upper Street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great little place on a busy corner, enjoy the tapas and watch the world go by. Good coffee and puddings too. Friendly and authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great dinner, good is excellent, real of Spain. Food is very tasty, full of flavours. We had white Wine from Argentina soooo good. I would come back for sure

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La farola also viewed

 

Been to La farola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La farola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.