We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many positives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King's Cross Station | Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Many positives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Chose the hotel primarily as we were catching the Eurostar early the next morning. Location is next door to the station.

Whilst not cheap accommodation (we did get a very good discount rate) it has been renovated into a first rate hotel. Rooms are small, but designed to include all features required. Not sure if I would spend any length of time staying there as probably would be a little cramped.

Checkin was promt and we were allowed to checkin prior to normal admission. Couldn't stay for breakfast (not included in room rate) due to early departure, however the pantry located on each floor was excellent feature. Coffee machines, tea, cakes etc was an excellent bonus. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    194
    52
    10
    14
See reviews for
61
344
49
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Chose this Hotel on the back of good Trip Advisor reviews
Great location right next to Kings Cross Station..very friendly and efficient reception staff
Lovely modern room, great facilities, and loved the little touches, such as the Pantry area on each floor, with complimentary drinks, fruit and cakes....nice touch
Great wi-fi and excellent TV with free films
Bar was nice, nice cocktails, shame no cider on offer though (love a quality Cider)
Recommended most definately though

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Suz,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries and our wonderfully efficient reception staff. The GNH bar is a great place to chill out and have a cocktail, apologies for not having cider, hope you tried our other options such as the Curious Brew, a great lager re-fermented with Champagne yeast for a cleaner and more refreshing taste. Maybe next time?! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel very soon.

Best wishes,

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The First Visit didn't go so well, but I don't want to focus on these negatives. Just go along with ‘If someone makes a mistake, they deserve a chance to fix it’ for now. We all know that in the world of Hospitality, customer service in response to a complaint can make or break you. After an unfortunate mishap with a single occupancy room, my parents were offered a free hotel stay on a weekend of their choice; bleeding great news when you’re coming to visit your son who moved to London. This is a great show of pride for where you work. If you know the experience can be better… then prove it right? And this is exactly what they did.

From the off, the customer service you receive is astonishing. The receptionist was 'great' (sorry for use of the word, but it is in the name), she served us and was completely unaware of our previous visit; hence her chirpy attitude was greatly received. You walk into reception and are immediately thrown into the history of the building. Yet the design is so on trend that you couldn't care less whether it was 1854 or 2014. The high ceilings and wide corridors of the bedroom floors are incredible for central London and yes, for bedroom sake, making this smaller and each of its 91 bedrooms larger seems like a light bulb moment, but its simple vastness and slight curvature creates a (what seems like) never-ending journey to the 'Pantry'. The Pantry, I have dreams about that pantry. At the end of the ‘yellow brick road’ on each floor is a small room. Not big enough to be a bedroom so they have turned it into every hotel guests dream. FREE FOOD AND DRINK. Cake is replenished if it runs out and there are wagon wheels aplenty. Tea or Coffee Sir, would you like a biscuit Madam? Oh God yes please!

During our stay we also had the opportunity to visit Plum + Spilt Milk, both for afternoon drinks and breakfast. Brekkie was not on the cheap side but enjoyable none the less. The design of the bar has apparently won awards and you can see why. The atmosphere that has been created by joining tables with winding leather sofas and floor to ceiling windows makes for better fresh orange juice if you ask me. The GNH bar on the ground floor is also a great spot to sit in the sunshine and people watch till your hearts content. St Pancras is always abuzz with a range of people that this is entertainment enough.

The lavish decor also stretches into the rooms. Having been in a Couchette room for the first visit, I can tell you that you will see the bed as a floor and the toilet as a bed side table. If possible ask for one of the other two types of room! The Cubbitt for example was delightfully light and fully decked out. From the MALIN + GOETZ products that are provided, to the little Nespresso machine nestled in the wardrobe. Having seen quite a few hotels in London, I can definitely say these are some of the best if you appreciate the look of a place (even if your eyes are shut for most of it).

If your contemplating booking this hotel and don't have £500 a night to blow at the Savoy, then go ahead. You won't be disappointed. Especially if the top two boxes to check on your list are service and the hotel's interior design. The centralized location is perfect for the London tourist. Pick a line pick any line (except for Central and District, that’s not an option). But my point being you can get anywhere you want. Also the Kings Cross area has gone under huge refurbishments recently which makes the ground at night look like your star gazing (seriously, I’m not joking here). To sum it all up, ‘The Great Northern Hotel’ is a great night sleep in North London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Immaculate hotel in every way although it is expensive. 5 star plus. Rooms are 100% clean and everything you need is there. As much tea, coffee and cakes free on every floor as you want! Each floor has a kitchen where you can help yourself to anything 24/7. Would recomment to anyone

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here one night and we both absolutely loved this hotel! It does the great era of British rail so well. Awesome styling, great service, wonderfully comfortable rooms and quite well priced. Check in was painless, we were taken to our room, shown where everything was and left to enjoy our stay. After unpacking we headed straight to the bar for a few a couple pre evening cocktails and they were wonderful. All in all a great experience. Will definitely stay here again!

Oh, and everyone smells real good! Not sure if this is a prerequisite for staff, if so, a nice touch ha.

Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Booked this for a family member who was booked on a early Eurostar his comments were "fab, clean & lovely service" they recommend Plum& spilt milk restraunt. It started their journey on to follow the Tour de France in style

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that your family enjoyed their stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries and our wonderful staff. We have a superb Housekeeping team here at the GNH who keep us looking like we did the day we opened our doors. Hope your family member enjoyed following the Tour de France. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Best wishes,

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Found the Great Northern a wonderful overnight stay, comfortable and convenient for catching Eurostar . Lovely bar and great for lunch with some people watching thrown in for free. We definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are perfectly located at Kings Cross and St. Pancras stations. Glad you had time to experience our GNH bar and to have lunch with us. Agreed, it is the perfect spot for people watching while enjoying some mouth watering GNH cocktails. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: King's Cross Station | Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#152 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. The elegant and chic bedrooms have been acoustically lined to ensure peace and tranquillity above the hustle and bustle of the big city. Pantries offering complimentary tea & coffee, treats, sweets and home made cakes are situated on each floor alongside the exciting eating and drinking areas - GNH Bar, Plum + Spilt Milk & KIOSK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.