We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality everywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King's Cross Station | Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early Save 30%
Ranked #130 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you are given your key card you can tell this hotel exudes the sort of quality and attention to detail rarely seen in hotels these days, regardless of their star rating.

The atmosphere of the whole hotel is air and light, verging on contemporary with hints of deco here and there. You'll enjoying strolling down the wide light corridors as you head to the self service pantry to collect a little treat for yourselves.

The Nespresso machines are a welcome touch, and the Loewe in room entertainment system offers both a fantastic selection and suffers none of the annoying delay/lag that almost all major hotel chain systems suffer from.

Getting on the Internet is simple, and the connection is great quality.

Whilst it is difficult to find faults with the hotel, our room could have been bigger, but this is common of most London hotel rooms that don't cost twice the price.

Overall there is very little that could be done to make this hotel any better, and this will be my first choice when staying in this are of London again.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern. We appreciate your kind words and it is always nice to hear that our offering is just what you are looking for in a hotel. I do hope that I get the opportunity to say hello when you are next staying in London. Very best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    161
    42
    10
    15
See reviews for
49
275
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Expect a warm welcome from this very centrally located hotel, which is a rare treat, especially in the establishments surrounding Kings Cross.
We arrived at 10.30am, and were expecting to dump our bags and head off. We had 2 rooms booked for the family, and we were offered the 1st room on arrival, and a promise of the adjoining room shortly after lunch.....nice. We asked for a late check out on departure, and were offered 1 room until 3pm, it's these little touches that make all the difference.
Brilliant refurb of a very old building, lots of quirky design details, which gave a very boutique feel to the place. One of which were the obscure glazed doors to the loo......(doesn't leave much to the imagination in a small room)..... Other than this I loved the decor.
Rooms aren't big, and each of the 3 rooms I went in to we're slightly different. Our room had a double shower, with 2 shower heads per person, with a separate wc. Toiletries were nice quality, and the fridge with comp water was refreshing.... There's a M&S food 30 seconds away, so you can stock up on essentials. Average price we paid for a 2 night stay was £225 per room/night, I guess it's par for the course.
The kids loved the pantry, which is located on each floor, and is basically like your home kitchen, with quality tea, coffee and biscuits running 24-7, and snacks such as delicious walnut cake, brownies and soft cookies which seem to appear like magic at different times throughout the day.
The booking process was awkward, we didn't receive email conformation of our stay despite ringing several times, but we were reassured that our reservation was on the system. Staff are all pleasant, its clear that the hotel has only been open a couple of months, and they are having teething problems with some of the technology, such as key cards not working.......no big deal.
The owners have got things right here, and savvy travellers will enjoy the touches......we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your very kind words about our team here at the Great Northern Hotel. I do hope you also got the chance to enjoy the pantry offering as well as your kids and I'm very pleased to hear you liked our special little touches. See you at the hotel again very soon. Thanks again, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to our return home after 5 days in London, we had been outside central London for the first 4 nights. The hotel has only been open about 3 months and everything was still very new and in good condition, an old building that has been beautifully restored. We arrived early but were still able to check-in as our room was ready. We had a slight problem gaining access to our floor as the electronic door would not open due to our room key having not been properly registered, however one of the staff came along and the matter was quickly sorted, this just seemed a teething problem with all the new technology. Our room was only small but perfectly adequate for our stay, it was a lovely design making use of the limited space. The bed is raised up on a platform directly in front of the window and was very comfortable. The quality "Loewe TV" had multiple channels including movies.
The bathroom had a large walk in shower with a large overhead rain head and a further shower attachment on the side wall.
A Nespresso Coffee Machine, fridge with complimentary bottles of water are all available in the room.
The window blind and curtains are all electronically controlled and close at the touch of their respective switches.
On each floor there is a pantry area with a further larger Nespresso Coffee Machine, fridge with milk, wagon wheel biscuits, cookies and a freshly made Victoria Sponge cake was brought in whilst we were there. There are also daily papers and stools to sit on.
We dined in the restaurant and found the food to be very good, the prices for the food and drinks reflect what you would expect to pay in central London so don't expect any bargains.
As we were not travelling home until 5pm on the Sunday we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst spending a further day sightseeing.
Overall this is a lovely place to stay, very modern and quirky in what is a very old building, staff are friendly and it is very handy for trains from both Kings Cross and St Pancras

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review after your stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I am so pleased you appreciated all the inclusive elements of a stay here and do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Rapidly becoming one of my favourite bar and restaurants when visiting London.
Bar snacks are very impressive, good choice and reasonably priced. Lovely atmosphere and 80mb free wifi. What more can you ask for?!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It's great to hear you're becoming one of our regulars at the GNH Bar and Plum + Spilt Milk. I hope we get the chance to say hello when you're next with us. Many thanks Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I arrived sore and swollen after a spectacular fall at Les Halles station, Paris enroute London via the Eurostar. We were greeted by "oh, you've been upgraded to the suite"! Finally something was going our way. From our initial greeting to our cheery farewell, our stay at GNH was faultless.

Within 30 minutes, I was propped up in bed ( feather pillows) with ice packs, a cup of tea and the most fabulous carrot cake from the assortment of offerings from the pantry. (Free on each floor a daily selection of homemade foodies, sweets, teas and Nespresso coffee).

Granted this review is based on an upgrade, the room was beautifully decorated and true to the character of the original building( the suite has two rooms living room and bedroom) and a separate toilet and shower). Staff across the hotel from reception, cleaning and the restaurant could not have been more helpful and friendly. In fact we were so impressed, we extended our stay and chose to stay within the hotel walls to hasten my recovery.

Across the road from St Pancras Station and out of the bar door and you're in Kings Cross station. Lifts were available throughout the station to ease the transit to the Piccadilly line.

No doubt we will make this our choice next time we are in London! Thanks GNH for a great stay.

Room Tip: Call reception for hotel information. As the hotel has recently undergone refurbishment, guides were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Jess, thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I really appreciate your very kind words about the experience here and I'm delighted that the upgrade to our suite was just the tonic after your recent fall. I do hope that you are now on the mend. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Thanks again, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here on June 29th for one night visiting London for Fiance's birthday. Arrived at the hotel at 11:45 and was ablle to check in and put bags in room. Shown to our rooms by a very professional and freindly guy and where everything was including the amaing pantry with the lovely cakes coffees and teas for you to use any time - the nespresso machines are brilliant.
The rooms are fairly small (to be expected from a hotel structure built in the 1800's) but the bed is lovely and the tv choices with moives is excellent along with the gorgeous bathrooms.
The evening meals are nice but expensive £32 for fillet steak which is a bit overpriced and the breakfast are equally overpriced but are very good.
To sum up.... Excellent hotel but a little bit expensive if you wish to dine...would stay again and would highly recommend it.
ps* reception kindly look after your cases after you have checked out leaving you to enjoy the day without your luggage and they do this free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and appreciate you recommending us to others. I do hope I get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Best wishes, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The whole hotel is modern but comfortable. I particularly liked the offering of cake, wagon wheels and Tunnocks caramel bars to accompany a broad selection of quality coffee, teas and newspapers in the pantries of each floor. We had a problem necessitating that we leave a day earlier than we had booked to leave. The reception was most sympathetic and did not insist we pay for the booked period. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our classic selection of snacks and treats in the pantry and do hope that we get the opportunity to see at the hotel again in the near future. Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: King's Cross Station | Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#152 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. The elegant and chic bedrooms have been acoustically lined to ensure peace and tranquillity above the hustle and bustle of the big city. Pantries offering complimentary tea & coffee, treats, sweets and home made cakes are situated on each floor alongside the exciting eating and drinking areas - GNH Bar, Plum + Spilt Milk & KIOSK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.