We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local bar and restaurant with superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaka at the Mansion House

Oaka at the Mansion House
48 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4RS , England
0207 582 5599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,052 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great local bar and restaurant with superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Really nice decor, good selection of beers, with a lot brewed by their own brewery. The barman was super and really excited by the range of beers and offered little tastings. Wine list was very good as well, and another great barman with excellent service recommended a nice white Rioja, again offering a tasting before buying.
Starters were lovely, and when a main course wasnt to our liking they dealt with it really well, apologising, offering alternatives and not charging for the meal.
Really great place, and look forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    14
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great little pub / restauraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Oaka at the Mansion House opened in our area and we received a voucher through our door to try a 2 course meal for £10 each.

The pub had already been recommended to me by a friend who is very much into good ales, but we went for the food.

This Asian fusion restaurant is well designed, smart and spacious. Part pub, part restauraunt it blends together well.

The food was lovely, genuine Thai fusion and it tasted fresh and we really enjoyed our meal.

The waitress who served us wasn't the friendliest but the older gent behind the bar was lovely and asked us how our meal was and had a little chat with us.

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Asian food comes to Kennington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely new spot, just moments from the tube. The menu is varied and includes some classic dishes that are well done. The beer and wine selection is also very good. Staff are friendly and the atmosphere and decor are warm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely bar in Kennington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My sister and I had a few drinks here on a Fri evening before seeing a play.
It's a really nice place but there are very few seats in the bar area. The restaurant area was not full at that time and it was mostly empty tables there. Though perhaps it filled up later.

The guys behind the bar were really friendly and they were clearly knowledgable about the beers being served. There's a great selection of real ales and quality lagers. I tried the Camden Hells lager as it's one of my favourites and it was well kept.

My sister wanted a quick meal and they let her eat a Pad Thai whilst sitting in the drinking area. It was quite nice food, slightly too oily perhaps but that is the nature of the dish!

I would definitely come here again if I were in the area. Kennington doesn't seem to have many other good places for drinking in the area around the station so I imagine a place like this is welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great So Close To Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just tried this new Bar Restaurant,Very good.
Food is great, if you look up at the Tv Screen
You Can see the Kitchen and the food being
Prepared.nice and clean. And friendly and
Attentive Service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaka at the Mansion House also viewed

 

Been to Oaka at the Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaka at the Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.