We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Express. West Kensington

Indian Express. West Kensington
3 North End Parade | West Kensington, London W14 0SJ, England (Formerly Indian Express)
+44 20 7610 1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Your local for fine indian cuisine in west kensington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The best Indian food I have ever had. The service is amazing, good prices, and nice atmosphere. I would recommend this to everybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    25
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best customer experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I traveled 8 different countries and visited multiple restaurabt Indian Expresa had the best customer service and Indian food. You can also bring your own alcohol since they do not serve alcohol. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We saw the reviews on Tripadvisor and was bit surprised that a small restaurant got such a god feedback outside London city centre. Curious as we are we decided to find out our selves. We were welcomed directly as we passed the entrance door, the decor is a bit simplistic but the food is not. We had an in-depth personal presentation of the menu (that contains several dishes that we had not heard of before). We ordered some the recommendations and we were stunned by the flavors. This was something extra. We can really recommend this restaurant. Please do not forget its BYO.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We listened to the advice of the waiter to choose our meal and that was a great decision. The food was delicious and the service very welcoming. The meal was excellent value given the quality of the food, we were both very full and satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant came to my attention when it was briefly ranked at #2 in London on Tripadvisor. Upon reading the reviews, I was wary of the surprisingly large proportion from first time reviewers, but thought I would give it a try, as it was in the neighbourhood.

We booked a few days in advance for dinner on Friday. The restaurant only holds 18 people, and it was full for much of the time we were there. The décor is fairly basic and some of the furniture was a bit worn out. We were given a friendly greeting by our waiter Becky (spelling?). He was keen to provide recommendations from the menu, and in hindsight the recommended dishes were our favourites. We had the lamb chops and king prawn puree to start with, followed by the Green Chilli Chicken and Lamb Sagwala for mains. We also had a side of the Special Daal. This was all accompanied by naan bread. The first three items I mentioned were all very good. The Lamb Sagwala was decent, but felt a bit similar to what you may find in many other Indian restaurants - the same applied to the daal. The naan was excellent – the perfect combination of soft and crispy. All in all, this was an absolutely massive quantity of food, definitely too much for two people. But I blame ourselves for being over-eager when ordering!

The service we received from Becky throughout our meal was outstanding. He is part of the family that owns the restaurant (as are most of the other employees) and was full of enthusiasm about the food and also very eager to ensure we had the best experience possible. After our meal he brought us a complimentary mango kulfi (also quite good).

The conclusion: go for the recommended dishes and you will have an enjoyable meal. The food is not outstanding, but it is certainly decent enough for a local Indian, and it also represents good value, with our total bill (excluding service) coming to £45. I wouldn’t travel across London for this, but if you live in the area, then definitely give it a try. I would have given them a 4-star rating, if not for the excellent service we received, and for that I have awarded them an extra star!

Tip: the restaurant has moved recently, and as at the time of my visit Google Maps still pointed you to the old address (which is about 10 min walk from the new place).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Express. West Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Indian Express. West Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Express. West Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.