We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Express. West Kensington

Indian Express. West Kensington
3 North End Parade | West Kensington, London W14 0SJ, England (Formerly Indian Express)
+44 20 7610 1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 17,318 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We saw the reviews on Tripadvisor and was bit surprised that a small restaurant got such a god feedback outside London city centre. Curious as we are we decided to find out our selves. We were welcomed directly as we passed the entrance door, the decor is a bit simplistic but the food is not. We had an in-depth personal presentation of the menu (that contains several dishes that we had not heard of before). We ordered some the recommendations and we were stunned by the flavors. This was something extra. We can really recommend this restaurant. Please do not forget its BYO.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    21
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We listened to the advice of the waiter to choose our meal and that was a great decision. The food was delicious and the service very welcoming. The meal was excellent value given the quality of the food, we were both very full and satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurant came to my attention when it was briefly ranked at #2 in London on Tripadvisor. Upon reading the reviews, I was wary of the surprisingly large proportion from first time reviewers, but thought I would give it a try, as it was in the neighbourhood.

We booked a few days in advance for dinner on Friday. The restaurant only holds 18 people, and it was full for much of the time we were there. The décor is fairly basic and some of the furniture was a bit worn out. We were given a friendly greeting by our waiter Becky (spelling?). He was keen to provide recommendations from the menu, and in hindsight the recommended dishes were our favourites. We had the lamb chops and king prawn puree to start with, followed by the Green Chilli Chicken and Lamb Sagwala for mains. We also had a side of the Special Daal. This was all accompanied by naan bread. The first three items I mentioned were all very good. The Lamb Sagwala was decent, but felt a bit similar to what you may find in many other Indian restaurants - the same applied to the daal. The naan was excellent – the perfect combination of soft and crispy. All in all, this was an absolutely massive quantity of food, definitely too much for two people. But I blame ourselves for being over-eager when ordering!

The service we received from Becky throughout our meal was outstanding. He is part of the family that owns the restaurant (as are most of the other employees) and was full of enthusiasm about the food and also very eager to ensure we had the best experience possible. After our meal he brought us a complimentary mango kulfi (also quite good).

The conclusion: go for the recommended dishes and you will have an enjoyable meal. The food is not outstanding, but it is certainly decent enough for a local Indian, and it also represents good value, with our total bill (excluding service) coming to £45. I wouldn’t travel across London for this, but if you live in the area, then definitely give it a try. I would have given them a 4-star rating, if not for the excellent service we received, and for that I have awarded them an extra star!

Tip: the restaurant has moved recently, and as at the time of my visit Google Maps still pointed you to the old address (which is about 10 min walk from the new place).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am so lucky to have this great Indian restaurant as my local one. We dined here several times and the restaurant never disappointed - food wise or service wise. Indian Express you have secured yourself another returning customer :) thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best curry in West London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Superb family-run restaurant, great for for a takeaway or BYO dinner out. The owners are friendly and the food is excellent and always tasty and fresh. And whatever you do have the prawn puri as your starter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Express. West Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Indian Express. West Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Express. West Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.