We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to lean back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice of Life Indian Cuisine

Spice of Life Indian Cuisine
260 Lee High Road | Lewisham, London SE13 5pl, England
02082444770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian, Bangladeshi, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Small family run restaurant , 38 seats, Indian and Bangladeshi food.Top 100 in Good Curry Guide 2013, free delivery service £25 min order, 2 mile radius area. Fully licensed and Air conditioned.Four course seasonal meal deal only £12.50 per person. Wide choice for all Vegetarian, Meat and Fish Dishes. Easy Parking after 7pm.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a place to lean back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

polite, friendly and great food. I am only average experienced with Indian food but I love to cook and therefore able to distinguish the ingredients. I believe they cook based on home kitchen recipes. Simple. Indian. Great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Probably one of the best Indian restaurants in SE London - a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Having used several indian restaurants in the area over the years / this consistently provides a very unique taste. There is a set menu most of the time / provides new and intriguing dishes. Wine and beer prices average for most Indians. Has a rather unique / non flock wallpaper decor - which is modern and unlike most Indians. Rudy? The owner is a polite and amusing character, having started restaurant years ago. Seem a normal and nice crowd of fellow dinners. Service charge of 10% is added automatically - generally service very good. No twanging sitar music - but good happy selection of 60/70/mainly 80's music played at the right volume. Generally I suspect overly good trip advisor reviews - this is genuine! I noted one poor review on another review site - can only assume it is a nutter or one of the many average local competitors.

Dave Shaw of Eltham

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average - standard indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place had high views so myself and my partner went to this restaurant tonight.
Don't get me wrong it was not bad but it was a typical Indian restaurant - manager was lovely, but slow from starter to main course. Overall a 6 out of 10

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“you must eat here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

brilliant so clean food to die for exceptionally looked after by waiters, they went the extra mile. they deserve to be star rated , and so reasonably priced, modern surroundings nothing to much trouble

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Restaurant outside of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to disagree with the last review regarding the bickering between the staff. The management and the staff at Spice of Life are simply great, they are always polite, friendly and professional. Everytime me and my husband visit we are always amazed by the way Moody (the manager) describes each dish, it leaves you feeling even more hungry.
The food is just excellent.

We have eaten at numerous trendy Indian restaurants and I can easily say if Spice of Life was based in Mayfair W1 I'm sure they would have a Michelin Star.

In the end it's all about great food and hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of Life Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Spice of Life Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice of Life Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.