We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Union Jack Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Save
You added The Union Jack Club to your Saves list
Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for exploring London from. Basic rooms are just that, but ideal for a base to see the city, or to get away for a few days. Great access to transport, fantastic food & bar, & can't be beaten for price. I'll surely be back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    68
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
58
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

For the 3rd year running we held a reunion for a WW2 RM Cdo Assoc and as before the Staff were totally helpful in every aspect of the weekend. Food tasty, hot and well served both in the Restaurants and our two separate rooms one of which was on the top floor and required extra seating to be taken up. Excellent value for money, superb facilities and for our Normandy French guests central for them to visit London. An additional bonus is that the UJC is well served by tube and train so our party coming from all over the UK could easily get to it. A big THANKS to all at the UJC - see you again very soon!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on a higher floor - with a "Sea View"!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This club is also available to retired and active duty military from the US. We have stayed on two different occasions. The rooms are somewhat plain, but clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant on the main level. You can easily walk to the Thames and many other sites or cross the street to the Waterloo Station and take the tube.

We had to extend our stay when my husband became ill and the staff worked hard to find us space on a busy bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Never ceases to provide excellent service, value and quality.
A superb location, with a variety of room standards to suit varying budgets.
Friendly and helpful staff, always excellent food and service.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in London

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Outstanding value for money and ideally placed being so close to Waterloo. Very good reception and security arrangements on arrival, which give visitor maximum confidence as well putting at ease. Rooms quite small but clean, well presented and looked after. Throughout the stay the staff could not have been more helpful, whether at coffee bar, restaurant, locker room, reception or room maintenance. The club is a credit to Service ethos and tradition.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the premier Hotel for serving and Ex-serving members of HM Army, Navy and Royal Air Force non-commissioned Officers and Warrant Officers. Really good hotel right next to Waterloo. Great food and great atmosphere.We will be rebooking

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a member I received a reduced rate, although it is not expensive, I would not call it exceptional value, compared with many other Hotels in London offering similar rates. The club is easy to find from Waterloo station, as long as you leave by the correct exit, Waterloo tube exit far right as you come off your train. Make sure you have your membership card you need it to be able to get in with no hassle. I found the staff at reception pleasant, if not overly welcoming. The rooms are basic but it does what it says on the tin. There seemed a lot of steps, in and out of most ground floor areas, although disable access is available the lay out shows a 1970s way of thinking toward the disabled. The room was very clean and we enjoyed our stay. The Main Bar was being refurbished during our stay. The house red was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Union Jack Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Union Jack Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.