We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Union Jack Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Union Jack Club
Save
You added The Union Jack Club to your Saves list
Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

You are very lucky if you get the chance to stay here as it is restricted to certain personnel - you know who you are! The location is amazing, make sure you walk over Waterloo Bridge to get here - the views are spectacular. Plenty to do in the location, Konditor and Cook bakery around the corner, and Borough market within walking distance. The room was well looked after and very clean. Breakfast included freshly squeezed fruit juice. Lovely coffee's in the foyer - union jack was a nice touch, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    68
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
58
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel, bar and dining room all seem like a dated officer's mess.

We were pleased with our room apart from the strong smell of paint.

The bed was comfortable and a modern shower room good.

Disliked the fact there was no dead lock or chain on the inside of the door like there is in any other hotel room.

There was also no 'do not disturb' sign to hang on the door.

Check out is 12pm on a Sunday and after a late night we were going to make use of this extra time to sleep in before a long drive home.

Between 8.30 and 9am we could hear housekeeping knocking on other doors and then ours... Obviously due not being able to lock our door we had to respond... (If we'd of been in a deeper sleep we'd of been rather hacked off if someone had come in).

So no sleep-in as planned!

Breakfast was a buffet at £8 each which is good value and offered a good range of English breakfast items, cereal and some continental breakfast things, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee.

As I say good value for money... Unless you only want toast!

Reception and waiting staff all friendly.

Would stay again if they had a better system of informing housekeeping about who had checked out instead of getting them to wake us up!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you planning a meet up with ex police colleagues for a catch up and a meal and drink in central London. Try the Union Jack Club at Waterloo. They are mainly a club for serving and ex members of H.M. Armed Forces but also extend an invite to all uniformed civillian serices such as police, fire, ambulance, nurses etc. The food and bar facilities are excellent a superb menu and loverly meals at very reasonable prices both lunch times and evenings. The bar area is very comfortable with many side rooms and speakeasy type areas to sit and chat. U cannot fault the location for travelling. It even has its own staircase from the passage between Waterloo East and Watreloo mainline stations, I have used this several times and am planning a meet for this November. Try it just for a drink or meal with the wife when visiting central London you will not be disappointed. U will need ID to get past the doorman as an ex officer I use my British Legion Card or My RAF Association card but other ex police association cards will suffice.

Room Tip: Haven't had an overnight stay but other friends say the upgraded double rooms are the best for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I used to stay in the (old) UJC MANY years ago when in the RN - it was a bit rough and ready then - but not now.
Wife and I stayed here 3 weeks ago. Were given a family room: bedroom 1 with twin beds; bedroom 2 with twin bunk beds and its own TV!
Furnishings are not ultra modern but everything was spotlessly clean. More towels in the bathroom than we knew what to do with. Beds were extremely comfortable.
We turned up early (blame SWT !) before room was ready, no problem, they have a manned luggage store as well.
Other side of the road is Waterloo station - same side of the road is access to W'loo East (can get through to main station too).
Only had breakfast there - £8; ribs were bulging when we left.

I have stayed in places in London costing 3 times as much as the UJC - they were more swish, but "better" than the UJC - certainly not !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a works organised business trip for two nights this week. Location wise you couldn't ask for more literally over the road from London Waterloo train station. Check in was smooth with no problems or issues.
Once at my floor as soon as the lift opened the stench of cigarette smoke was sickening. Despite the signs saying 'No smoking' it was clear people did. The sign on my room door of 'Smoking Room' made turn straight around and head back to reception as I do not and never have smoked. There was no way I was staying in a smoking room. The receptionist was fantastic, she was able to find me a non-smoking room and said she'd try to sort out my second night by the morning.
The single en-suite room I had was basic but fully functional with all the usual facilities and spotless. No problems here at all.
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel is always welcome as many hotels unbelievably still charge for this.
I had a pleasant couple of drinks in the bar that night surrounded by an impressive array of military history particularly VC winners. Very humbling.
In the morning the receptionist had worked her magic and arranged for me to thankfully stay in the same room. I spoke to my work's hotel booking agency and they said they booked non-smoking, whilst the UJC said a smoking room was booked. Either way it's worth specifying you want a non-smoking room just in case. But seriously what is a hotel doing having smoking rooms these days? Just plain dumb and outdated.
Breakfast was superb and covered every option in a very historic room.
After a day in town on business I returned to the hotel and had my dinner there. An extensive menu made selection difficult but that's not a bad thing. A small wine menu was not helped by two of the three white wines being unavailable. Unforgivable in Central London. Competitively priced food is always a bonus.
A return to the bar that night was very relaxing (even given the England vs Poland game being on TV!). Good and fairly priced beer is always welcome and hard to find in London and always welcome.
A few problems with uncooperative lifts made getting back to reception in the morning a delayed challenge but as I was not in a particular rush was no real inconvenience. After another excellent breakfast check out was simple and hassle free.
I was able to leave my baggage for free whilst I attended to business in town but that's because I am a member. Non members pay £1 per item- very reasonable.
To sum up ignoring the smoking room issue, which may have been my work's fault, the UJC is an excellent facility right in the heart of London ideally located for most tourist attractions and always worth a stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The UJC is open to current and former members of HM Armed Forces (including Commonwealth countries I believe). It's not the trendiest place in London but for what you pay, especially if travelling alone, it is surely one of the best value hotels available.

My single (not en suite) room cost only £30 for the night (en suite is £40). The room was basic but clean and comfortable enough for my purposes - namely somewhere to sleep after a night on the pop! The location right next to Waterloo Station is fantastic - within walking distance of the West End/Covent Garden area and with immediate access to the Underground (Bakerloo, Northern and Waterloo and City Lines).

The rates for double or family rooms aren't as good although probably still represent value for money given the location.

Service from the mostly foreign staff is fine, no problems with getting an early check-in (request in advance and they can arrange it) and they also allowed me to check out slightly late the following day. An often overlooked benefit is that the hotel has free left luggage and I believe that this can be used even if you're not staying there - might save you a few pounds rather than leaving left luggage with a private company in Waterloo.

All in all a basic, excellent value hotel for the odd weekend in London.

Room Tip: It can be noisy if you like the window open so ask for a high floor. The higher floors also have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is clean and oozes with atmosphere. The location is great, right next to Waterloo Station. Very reasonable prices. Highly recommended, just don't expect luxury. Please note that at least one in the party must have an affiliation with HM Forces or another uniformed service from the UK or her allies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Union Jack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Jack Club

Address: Sandell Street, London SE1 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Jack Club is a Service charity for serving and former non-commissioned members of Her Majesty's Armed Forces and their families and provides a comfortable and friendly base from which to explore London. Versatile accommodation for individuals,couples, families and groups and fully accessible. Come and experience the Union Jack Club yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Union Jack Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Union Jack Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.