We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for everything!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Boar

Blue Boar
37-45 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LQ, England (Westminster)
+44 20 3301 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,473 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Blue Boar offers contemporary British dining in the heart of Westminster. Head Chef Rob Stephens combines fresh, regional ingredients to deliver a mouth-watering menu that celebrates the very best of what each British season brings. Farm sourced succulent meats and freshly caught seafood from the Devon and Cornwall coastline feature on a menu that is as perfect for a light lunch as it is for a decadent dinner. Private dining at Blue Boar is particularly special with two exceptional spaces, connected to the main restaurant by a floor-to-ceiling wine wall. Blue Boar Bar is a sophisticated take on the traditional British pub and is locally recognised as the hub of the Westminster Village. With locally brewed craft beers and ales, a fine selection of wines and spirits and an ever-evolving cocktail list, the bar offers an exceptional setting where guests can take in the rich heritage of the Westminster scene. Head Chef Rob Stephens' Bar and Late Night menus focus on simplicity and seasonality as a perfect food accompaniment, whilst the bar's Private Drinking Room can be booked for those that require the ultimate discrete table.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“10/10 for everything!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to say that my partner and myself have been lucky enough to visit some lovely restaurants!!

This restaurant was everything we love, great food, amazing wine and amazing service!
The service from all the staff here was amazing from the bar staff to the water, our water in particular was extra lovely!! Ian he was called and made our visit extra special with useful without been to over the top!!

Would recommend this restaurant and would love to come back soon!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    94
    44
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Late night - good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Thought we were out of luck looking for a late dinner (10:30pm) near our hotel - apparently even the pubs close at 11pm.Stumbled upon the Blue Boar, which is a really nice bar with a LATE NIGHT MENU! I had the wrap, which was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were seated promptly on arrival (I didn't pre book). We were a bit disappointed at the limited choices on the menu but what we had was good and not expensive. Although the staff were attentive they had trouble understanding our English accents! - they also didn't seem very friendly. The atmosphere was relaxed, and the room light, airy and well laid out - they haven't tried to cram lots of tables in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great bar, feels like the best type of pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We dived in here for a few drinks and something to eat before getting the water-taxi at Waterloo Pier to a concert at The 02. The drinks aren't cheap, but it is Westminster, so what do you expect. The glass of wine was £13.50 for a 250ml NZ Sauvignon Blanc. Delicious, but that would be £40+ for the bottle. The draft beer was English lagers. Really good, £4.25 per pint, but the best pint mug you've ever seen. The food was delicious, hot and tasty. It was mid-afternoon on a Saturday and quite busy. There is plenty of space and lots of hidden nooks and crannies, booths and hidden rooms. Service was friendly but not the quickest, although we weren't in a rush. We had walked through the hotel to get in (it is part of The new Intercontinental Westminster) but it has it's own street-entrance, too. Overall, very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had breakfast and lunch at the Blue Boar. The food and service were both very good. Really liked the hamburger with sweet onion relish...YUMMO!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Boar also viewed

 

Been to Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Boar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.