We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like the best in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen

Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen
11-13 Theberton Street, London N1 0QY, England (Formerly Como3 Cantina Chic)
+44 20 7354 2341
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 16,942 restaurants in London
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Japanese, Spanish, Tapas, Contemporary, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Tinto, we believe that variety is the spice of life. All our dishes are starter size and designed with sharing in mind. All our ingredients are fresh and lovingly prepared. Remember, sharing is caring.
Barcelona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“like the best in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

lived 3.5 years in Barcelona, this place reminded me of the best tapas places I used to eat at. pan con tomate, croquetes, jamon pata negra, great deserts. the wine is too expensive though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    95
    16
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average to Good but not the best as advertised here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went on a sun afternoon with high expectations after reading the reviews. Service was not the fastest (although we were few customers), and food was average (with the burgers very good, and the gambas in ajillo the best we've had). Portions are very small, so this makes it an expensive restaurant. I compared it to Barrafina in Soho, which beats Como3 by a mile in terms of athmosphere, service and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Spanish tapas with French twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Como3 twice within a week. The first time after work on a Friday. This was a very nice experience. We had a great red wine – a carafe of merlot, extremely smooth and full bodied. The tapas were excellent, with a French twist on Spanish dishes, making them very light and enjoyable. This time we has a bill of just above £70 including tips. We felt this was really excellent value for this quality in a prime location. Very welcoming and friendly staff – and the owner visited our table at the end and explained how he sources and prepares the food. The second time we came here on a Saturday, just a week later. Again, we were very happy about the quality, the environment and the service. We had Jamon iberico, beetroots salad (really recommended), Squid, Pork Gyoza and severl other tapas and three desserts (chocolate croquettes and Tonka parfait), and espresso. This time is was £95 plus a voluntary tip – a rarity these days where usually a 12% surcharge is added without asking. Also, when checking the bill we realise that even small items such as water (large bottle £3.50), bread with olive oil (£1.50) or espresso (£2.00 each) are not abused to rip off guests with “small” items.
This is alongside with another famous Spanish restaurant in West London probably currently one of the best Spanish Tapas bars (even though – or because? the owner is French) in London. The bills are very, very reasonable and make this restaurant one of the best value for money in this quality range.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Nice Neighbourhood Cantina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely evening here. The mainly Spanish staff are adorable and the proprietor takes the time to come over and ask how you are enjoying it. The ambiance is casual and laid back, the tables (in the back) are very close together and the acoustics aren't great due to a lot of hard surfaces so it can be hard to focus on your own conversation rather than ones neighbours. There is also seating in the front of this compact little spot which may be quieter and more roomy and I would request this area next time as they also have windows onto Theberton Street, the windowless back area has little aesthetic appeal. Food is an interesting array of Spanish and Pan Asian style Tapas. Some dishes were very good, Japanese Gyoza dumplings and the Pan Boli for example, others such as paella balls we thought rather bland. I was expecting something more extraordinary given Como 3s rating on Tripadvisor, (Number 4 in London at the time of our visit) so was a little disappointed foodwise but perhaps expectations were just too high because of this. Ratings aside, it is still quite simply a lovely, well run neighbourhood eaterie with fabulous staff, reasonable prices, decent food and a friendly vibe, and there's not too much wrong with that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food was really interesting. I loved the mixture of japanese and spanish. Both taking the best from each other. Good wine
Good deserts
Friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England

Been to Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinto - Wine Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.