We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!! Excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cookery School at Little Portland Street

Cookery School at Little Portland Street
15B Little Portland Street, London W1W 8BW, England (Fitzrovia)
+44 20 7631 4590
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cookery School's approach to food is simple, modern and imaginative. We focus on demystifying cooking, removing jargon and bringing back good home cooking skills at our school in Central London. At Cookery School the atmosphere is fun and informal. We provide the skills necessary to become a confident and independent cook and all our classes have a very high proportion of hands on practice. We use only high quality, sustainable and primarily organic ingredients and are proud to be the only London cookery school awarded the maximum 3 Stars for sustainability from the SRA. Winner of "The Best City Cookery School 2013" and runners -up for "Most Sustainable Cookery School 2014" in the UK Cookery School Awards.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much fun!! Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Their training courses are fantastic and the staff are so friendly! I went on a course for a few days before starting university and felt much more confident in venturing beyond beans on toast! The staff are very experienced, friendly and professional. Many many thanks to Rosalind and her team! I would highly recommend these cookery courses!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great School!!The Best in UK!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Unfortunately I haven't had a chance to do any course at this school yet,but my girlfriend did it lately.Before taking the course her cooking skills were very good,but after they are really impressive now! She received a great knowledge in different styles and types of cooking.I'm the really lucky guy down here,because whatever she has learnt at school,she tries to practice in our kitchen too!And the food now is just fabulous!! Thank you a lot from me to the School’s principal Rosalind Rathouse

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been here 3 times and learnt so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

and used the recipes endlessly. This is such a gem of a place. I have been with corporate and charity events over the years each time was special . in fact I have a party on Sunday and was just looking at the tapas recipes . A fantastic place to learn and have fun .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best cookery school in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It may be a small school but I cannot recommend it enough. Of course, it’s policy on using the finest ingredients that are available so long as they are sustainable and organic is laudable but the real star of this school is the teaching itself. They don’t just teach you recipes; they teach you to understand food and that is an invaluable skill.

The classes start off with a meet and greet, freshly made nibbles are served before the timetable of the class is explained. Sometimes there is a demonstration or sometimes you are thrown straight into the deep end and start cooking. Everyone cooks. The high staff/student ratio is one of Cookery School strong points. At critical points in the recipe everyone is invited to come and watch the student as the chef explains the process. They’ll also let you know what could go wrong and how to rectify it. I’ve even seen the chef’s purposefully sabotage the demonstration in order to show what could go wrong.

At the end of the class/course you will come away confident and enthusiastic about food. Cooking really is easy when you know how. These courses are worth every penny.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just the best place to learn real cookery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I'm on my 7th class now! Real hands on cookery, Ros and her team run such lovely friendly classes and you get to eat and take home the fab food that you've just made!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookery School at Little Portland Street also viewed

 

Been to Cookery School at Little Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cookery School at Little Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.