We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Hotel Restaurant

The Ritz Hotel Restaurant
150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
020 7493 8181
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ritz Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 18,140 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the magnificent Ritz Restaurant leaves an indelible impression on all who dine there, making it one of the world's most desirable places to dine. Reflecting a new pride in classic French cuisine made with British produce, the kitchen uses only ingredients that are the finest and freshest available. As you would expect of The Ritz, the service is exemplary. On Saturday nights, The Ritz holds 'Live at The Ritz' - a glamorous dinner dance with a 4-piece live band and a dance floor. Enjoy a delicious four course meal of classic culinary delights prepared with contemporary influences, and then dance the night away. The dress code of The Ritz reflects the ambience and style of the different areas of the hotel. In The Ritz Restaurant and The Palm Court, gentlemen are required to wear a jacket and tie, with the exception of breakfast; jeans and sportswear are not permitted. Smart casual attire is requested for The Rivoli Bar and The Long Gallery. Please note that sports shoes are not permitted in The Ritz Restaurant, The Rivoli Bar or The Palm Court at any time.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Ritz.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

Having to book this venue well in advance was an indication of how popular this famous venue is.
If there is a better service, higher quality food and more .beautiful surroundings anywhere, I would be surprised.
From the smiling doorman to the serving staff, it was obvious that they are all experienced and highly trained to a level that is hard to find.
All in all a rewarding experience.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    119
    41
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at the ritz a must to experience never to be repeated! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

"Off to dinner at the Ritz darling"
Smart dress essential
"Gentlemen must wear a jacket and tie"
Well that does depend on who you are!
Dined there last night, a night to remember. We did the Amazon offer, but the staff let you know they know you are on the Amazon offer. Dinner for two £160, three courses, limited choice and economic portions.
Certain waiters were rude and certainly did not know how to wait on a table, reaching across my partner to clear my dishes. She was polite enough to move her chair back to give him access. What he could have done is move around the table. The waiter was informed of his rudeness to my partner! No comment from him at all just walked off!!!
The dress code is upheld by the hotel depending on who you are, I believe, one guy in there was wearing what we believed to be a long sleeve t shirt, no jacket and no tie.
Perhaps he was not on an Amazon deal!
We raised this with the staff post dinner and was told we were wrong, and then dismissed!
So very rude!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, fab food, fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

First visit, we had 3 course set menu which was a good choice. I had scallops to start, sirloin beef roast as main, and chocolate mouse as dessert. It was of good quality, good portion and very filling. We chose red wine instead of champagne however champagne was offered along with a fab cheese selection if required. The service was second to none absolutely amazing the waiters couldnt do enough for you. Felt welcomed and very comfortable. The dining room decor is something I've never seen before amazing. I would return for the afternoon tea next time! A must try for everyone!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVINGSTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Wow!
What an amazing place.
We had a perfect meal here.
The staff were very attentive & friendly, the food was first class and the wine was beautiful!
The presentation of the food was gorgeous , so much attention to detail.
Our meal wasn't at all rushed (which I loved) & we sat and enjoyed the surroundings for a good few hours.
Perfection!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

A truly fantastic experience, the food was as good as any I have had in London and the service faultless

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ritz Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ritz Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.