We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service and atmosphere. New peruvian fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coya

Coya
118 Piccadilly, London w1j 7 nw, England (Mayfair)
+44 20 7042 7118
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,449 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: London's first Peruvian restaurant, bar and private Members club. Coya Restaurant and Bar brings the spirit of Latin America to the heart of London. With a modern Peruvian restaurant at the centre of Coya's culture, chefs will entertain as food is prepared in one of three open kitchens, the Ceviche Bar (raw bar), La Parrilla (open charcoal grill) and the Cocina Central (central kitchen). An extensive Pisco Bar specializing in bespoke pisco infusions, specialist tequilas and rum, sits adjacent to the main dining room, where the sights and sounds of Coya come together to fill the senses with the essence of Latin American culture.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice service and atmosphere. New peruvian fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to eat and the ceviche was nice, and the sea bass from Chile was good well prepare. the anticucho so, so, we order more chilly and got all sorts of different.!! the wine by glass excellent .the chocolate parfait with kiwicha was nice too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    151
    63
    42
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too cool for school and definitely NOT authentic Peruvian food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Coya last Saturday night feeling very excited about this much talked about place. My husband is Peruvian and we both love Peruvian food. Oh what a disappointment. We started off with 2 pisco sours, which were warm and eggy. YUCK! Someone needs to show them how to make good pisco sours, it isn't difficult! We asked for some crushed ice and we had to stir our sours with a spoon since the egg white had evidently been thrown on the top and not mixed in. I ordered Tiradito, which lay in a thick sauce - it should be with lemon and aji. My husband's ceviche was tiny and lacked any of the traditional garnishes a ceviche comes with. It had some kind of truffle in it and it was the worst ceviche he had ever tried. The anticuchos were similarly depressing. The beef ribs were tender and tasty, but not Peruvian at all. The only redeeming feature of the entire meal was a very authentic Lucuma mousse with passion fruit, that really was superb, but as my husband pointed out, you can't really get that wrong. I looked around the restaurant and saw people eating tortilla's and some kind of salsa, maybe guacamole, but honestly - that is Mexican. After the disastrous pisco sours, I ordered a glass of red wine - house I thought, and it was £17 on the bill - a disgrace. If you want authentic Peruvian stick to Tito's for cheap and cheerful or Ceviche in Soho which is a million times better and really authentic Peruvian - that's if you can ever get a table!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“When good food takes a back seat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Obviously an in place in Mayfair. As you enter and go down the stairs you feel you are in a trendy club. Usually food in places that favor looks tends to be a second thought, but here it is actually very good. Obviously the various services are what one would expect but there are discoveries to be made both in food and wine. Drank a 2009 Bouza Tannat B6 from Uruguay. Great value. Anyway we enjoyed our meal even though we had to seat at the service counter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As with all new places the jury is out there, but we had a fab night out. The bar has a buzz and the restaurant was full. I liked the entrance, which doesn't say much about the place and once you made your way downstairs you don't want to leave.
We got stuck with Cocktails and they are professionally prepared and the snacks are very tasty. The service in the bar is a bit OTT though.
In the restaurant one can see that the floor is properly structured, i.e. the restaurant can be so full that the service has to be very organized. It was seemless.
The food is nice, but one can get carried away and order more and more from the grill. That can get very expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The jury is still out on this one!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is THE new place to go and be seen in London.
The place is big with a bar area on the ground floor and the main dining and cooking done in the semi basement. The place is decorated in semi rustic way and a lot of money has been spent on just that. It wasn't very busy for lunch when we went, and although a lot of staff was around the service was not what we expected. Big gaps between courses and then suddenly 4 or 5 dishes would arrive together. Also we felt that our waiter was really trying to make us get more and more dishes and he nearly succeeded doing it.
The food has a lot of similarities to Roka and Zuma, sister restaurants to Coya, with Japanese Asian fusion food and I must say that these were quite tasty and also varied with good tastes.
The tuna was excellent as was the sea bass cooked in a similar way as black cod. The squid on the other hand was too dry and even the excellent sauce couldn't revive it.
One thing you must go for was a fantastic popcorn vanilla ice cream which unfortunately can't remember it's name. I'm sure this place will do quite well as its within walking distance of all the major 5 star hotels in Park Lane plus the so called trendy young clientele it is bound to attract.
The menu is on the expensive side and although it looks complicated it isn't really.
You have to book and beware that as its on Piccadilly you will have to park in Mayfair and walk to it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coya also viewed

London, England
 
 

Been to Coya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.