We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Recipease Notting Hill

Recipease Notting Hill
92 - 94 Notting Hill Gate | Notting Hill, London W11 3QB, England
020 3375 5444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 1,022 Activities in London
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I received this as a gift. It was great fun for the two of us and something different to do. We made Mexican food this time and will go back to experience some of the other classes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    13
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best practice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lively place, good food and very "home, sweet home" atmosphere. I had a lesson about pasta preparing in Recepease, It was very good experience - our teacher was in good mood and took her experience to us. Group was about 10 people, different ages, companies and only I was from another country. I strongly recommend if you visiting London, buy the lesson in Recepease, if you haven't time, just have a breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“It must be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to this cafe for breakfast following the name of its owner. I thought it would be much better. But I was deeply disappoindet with breakfast. The food was absolutely tasteless. Scrambled eggs were overcooked, bread was not fresh. So it's just a name unfortunately. I discovered then lots of more interesting places around Portobello road for breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great alternative group dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A group of six of us went to Recipease to try the Vietnamese Street food class. The group was pretty large (15 in total), but the cooking was pretty straight forward so it wasn't really an issue.

The food we cooked ourselves was great tasting and we had real fun preparing it. I'm not so sure how engaging it would be if you went just as a couple, but if a few of you are planning to eat out it's worth considering.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jamies cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After reading the reviews of this lovely place I feel compelled to point out that as advertised on jamies website - this is not a restaurant - this is a cafe. A cafe that happens to have had the novel idea to teach people the basics of cooking/baking.
If you are expecting a restaurant 3 course meal dining experience then this will not be it.
However what is does have is a wonderful vibe, great attentive staff , lots of seating space for the age old past time of people watching - and more importantly simple well cooked food . It's great for breakfast, brunch, lunch and snacks .
We shared a pizza topped with Parma ham, buffalo mozzarella and rocket , and shared a portion of crunchy roast potatoes in garlic and rosemary . A smoothie of the day - beet root and banana was lovely , coffee was great too. Our bill was £23 - which for london and the quality of food, i think is great value.
We will definitely return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recipease Notting Hill also viewed

 

Been to Recipease Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Recipease Notting Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.