We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, great environment, dodgy service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MASH Brewerstreet

MASH Brewerstreet
Brewerstreet 77 | Soho W1F 9ZN, London W1F 9ZN, England
0207 734 2608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #803 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Danish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: WELCOME TO MASH LONDON MASH is located in the lower ground floors of the former Regent Palace Hotel which dates back to 1915, it was the largest hotel in Europe at that time.Upon arrival you will be greeted by a very MODERN AMERICAN STEAK HOUSE design of restaurant, bringing the venue into modern day times.Glide down the magnificent suspended staircase which is draped in luxurious red carpet, where our reception team will greet you and effortlessly guide you through the art deco venue. We welcome you to the MASH adventure. Our Private Dining Room Accommodates a maximum of 18 people , Our Semi Private Dining room Accommodates a maximum of 24 people Total restaurant seating area: 350 Total restaurant area: 450 for a standing reception For inquiries, Please contact our reservations and events department for further information between9 am and 6 pm – Mon-Friday
Midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great steak, great environment, dodgy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I thought the food was excellent, but the poor service (slow, confusion over orders etc) was poor. Stylish, but somehow misses the mark.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    144
    55
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First steak in Mash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Boys night out,me and a mate of mine,had a fantastic night.Food was great,drinks perfect but what made our night was our lovely French waitress Fiona.You are a superstar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best cocktails ever in the coolest art deco bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time here and it took my breath away. A lover of all things art deco I have been to many places but this was one of the classiest without being over the top like some visited. Once part of the Regent Palace Hotel built in 1915 and then the largest Hotel in Europe it has been many things over the years and now transformed back in part to its formar glory. The cocktails are reasonably priced ranging from £9 - 25 and they are worth every penny. I started with the waiters signature cocktails Guns and Roses an infusion of liqueurs but with a twist using various herbs like sage and rosemary to give an excotic bite. One cocktail had liquorish powder on the top that just exploded in the mouth. Staff bent over backwards to please and the bar nibbles are well priced and plentiful. We didn't eat in the restaurant but have booked to go back. Aged hung meat and an extensive range of world cheeses, just my kinda place. Purrrrrrrfect

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, great steaks but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an uber cool restaurant with real style, the steaks are very special, service is friendly but perhaps and I hate to say this, it just misses the mark. On a Friday there was a fair few empty tables so the cavernous space didn't really have that much of a buzzy atmosphere. The cost is quite eye-watering, a round of cocktails, two courses for four and a couple of bottles of Pinot Noir and a bottle of Pinot Grigio came to £386. And those prices you can consider almost any restaurant in London. If you are looking for a great steak then go, if you are looking for a really memorable dining experience then maybe go...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting, Average Steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After 30 or so days away from Texas, we decided it was time for a good steak. I searched TA for a steak restaurant near the theatre district for a meal before an evening performance of Les Mis....I was pleased to discover Mash, one of the top rated steak houses in all of London and one of the top 100 overall. was a mere 10 minute walk to the theatre.


The restaurant is visually stunning. The service was friendly, though uneven (I think our server was new. She frequently asked others to assist her with menu options, wine choice and so forth).

I ordered Uruguayan beef from the range of options. I have been to Uruguay and experienced some of the best free range, grass fed beef on the planet. I expected the same at a top London steak house. Um, no. Not a bad steak, lacking the flavor of a great Uruguayan steak.

The highlight of the evening was a reasonably priced (by London standards) Catena Malbec from Argentina. That and the ambiance of the restaurant.

Our experience reminded me of another post about seafood in Omaha, Nebraska--"you can get it, but that's not their specialty." For a great steak, save for a holiday in Montevideo. Or come on out to West Texas. There are at least five steak houses in Abilene (population 100,000) better than Mash.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASH Brewerstreet also viewed

 

Been to MASH Brewerstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MASH Brewerstreet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.