We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience, friendly helpful staff and pleasant food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
15-17 Exhibition Road | South Kensington, London SW7 2HE, England
020 7225 0097
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,400 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Whether you are on the go or have time to linger, Le Pain Quotidien is the perfect place to catch a break from the city life. The homey interior matches our organic farm food roots; a splendid display of everything from tarts to tartines can be found here at any time of day. And there's always enough fresh bread to go around!
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, friendly helpful staff and pleasant food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really busy at the time we called in but didnt have to wait long to be seated. One of my companions is disabled and staff were excellent in finding us an appropriately accessible table. Despite being busy, our order was brought along very quickly. We only had hot drinks and a quiche type thing, but it was all very good. Not overly pricey and a nice place to while away an hour. Great cafe culture area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    60
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rip - off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this branch of the chain prior to a visit to the Royal Albert Hall. I shall never set foot in one of these places again. The bill came to £32ish, for a small beer, a small glass of wine, two open sandwiches and a discretionary 12.5% service charge. As a London resident, I have always defended the prices charged in the city as what you might expect - this just reminded me of the worst examples quoted in the past. This snack was nothing more than a rip - off of the highest order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We visit our local branch in Wimbledon Village on a regular basis, Great food and good for the kids also.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nonexistent service, so I can't review the food I never got”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stopped in here in the morning on the way to the museums. The place was crowded and stiflingly hot inside, so I asked the waitress if I could buy food at the counter and eat it outside at the tables, or if the tables had table service. She didn't understand me, and I ended up having to rephrase this question 3 times until she finally told me to go sit outside for table service.

So, I did. After a relatively long while, she came out, helped the man across from me who'd already been served his meal, and walked within inches of me to go back inside. She made no eye contact, and said nothing. Not, "I'll be with you in a minute," nothing.

So, not wanting to wait around interminably to see if I could ever get some unfriendly service, I went directly across the street to Fernandez and Wells and had a wonderful breakfast served by two servers who were friendly, talkative, and happy to help a customer. The genial conversation I had with one of them is still a great memory from my trip. The sandwich I had there was to die for and I'm rather glad I was ignored at LPQ in retrospect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had afternoon tea here after visiting the V&A. We were lucky to be seated in the corner window which gave us lots of room and the opportunity for people watching. The cakes were delicious but not too sweet. Although I've been to much cheaper cafe's the price is about average for a coffee chain and has the sdvantage of table service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pain Quotidien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.