We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Italian hospitality in the heart of London......shhhhh! Lets keep this one a secret, yes?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Tempo

IL Tempo
48 Chandos Place | London WC2N 4HS, London, England
02072404179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,616 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are extremely passionate about good food and wine; we are independent, and eager to bring you a genuine Italian lifestyle experience in the heart of London.Il Tempo is the sort of local café/bar that you can find in every Italian city. Open from early morning, we offer authentic Italian coffee, made by coffee experts in the real Italian way. Our breakfast menu is all about quality products, for a light and energetic beginning of the day; we serve fresh fruit, home baked croissants and pastries, to enjoy in or to take away.Our lunch offer is varied, and presented as an open table, where you can handpick your meal from a wide variety of Italian bites. You can pick and choose amongst our varied daily selection, according to your taste. Enjoy it in or take it away.As the evening approaches, Il Tempo turns into the very first open table/authentic Aperitivo Bar in London. Discover what the Aperitivo is all about.After the Aperitivo we offer a selection of platters, premium Italian products and ingredients, from hams, salami and cheeses to smoked fish and vegetarian.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italian hospitality in the heart of London......shhhhh! Lets keep this one a secret, yes?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

So I started coming here for the coffee, it's quiet by day so you can have chance to catch up on emails, paper work or a good book. The sandwiches are prepared fresh on the premises and they know how to make a decent coffee!!!
By night it takes on a completely different guise. Buy a glass or two of wine and the Italian tapas keeps coming and coming. Again all prepared fresh on site! A little taste of Italy, wholly independent and refreshingly so! Shhhhh! We'll keep this one to ourselves ok?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderous bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A 1 minute step off the dirty Strand take you into this tiny wine bar like a shaft of Italy in Charing Cross. The staff are exceptionally friendly and we were made to feel like old friends the first time. The food menu is limited to whatever pasta was made that day, but its just like being at a friend's house, you get the delicious food they cooked. The wine is wonderful but pricey, £30 for a good bottle, however, you are in the centre of London. I would recommend to anyone to sit for a while with a glass of juicy red and enjoy the complimentary snacks in the early evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Northern Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It may have been cold outside, with a hint of snow in the air, but inside this intimate bar it was forever Italy. Laid out on marble slabs were little Italian snacks, aubergine gratin, single mushrooms, mini bruscetta - all free with a drink. In the spirit of the place, we had Negronis and Aperol spritzer - an orange aperatif from Turin. You won't be able to get a gin and tonic or Coca Cola in there, but there are lots of unusual Italian alternatives. Really nice place to settle after work, or on your way to the cinema or theatre. The free snacks stop at 8.30 - when you can get cheese or pork platters - and in Italy it is a tradition to have just one plate of the aperativo snacks per drink purchased. MUCH nicer than crisps.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As has been said on other reviews, this little restaurant didn't really jump out at first, mainly because it looked more like a coffee bar. But once we were inside, the hosts were friendly and welcoming, and the sandwiches that we had were some of the best we have ever tasted. There is a good choice of bread, which we all found lovely but the fillings were really why we all loved this place. A wide selection of Italian meats and cheeses made up the menu which are then plentifully laid into your sandwich, and for £3.20 for a very full lunchtime snack, it was definitely value for money as well. Will hopefully visit again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Aperitivio appetite?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great little spot for drinks and aperitivio. Small selection of tasty bites that accompanied our aperol spritz's perfectly. Not overly busy, so somewhat surprised at the hit and miss service from the male staff, who seemed more interested in the Italian girls sat at the bar. Additionally the drinks were more expensive than expected - £10 per drink resulting in £90 for 9 drinks - had cheaper and better drinks elsewhere. By 9pm place was empty - surprising for a great location on a Friday before Christmas. This might be because from the outside all they advertise is coffee. No word about aperitivio?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Tempo also viewed

 

Been to IL Tempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Tempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.