We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R.e resturant only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chingford

Premier Inn Chingford
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chingford to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chingford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranger's Road | Chingford, London E4 7QH, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #164 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“R.e resturant only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Often go here for dinner the food is of good standard and so are the desserts with a broad menu! Im not sure if they still have parking meters there in peak summer but this is understandable as it becomes a car park for forest walkers otherwise, the building its self is old styled but that is all that is old about this! Overlooking chingford plains and golf course it is a lovely outskirt London location! I love the all you can eat breakfast too !

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
30
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

For a very reasonable rate we had three nights in a spacious and comfortable room with all the basics provided. It was clean and fresh with a good standard of decoration. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was very close to the railway station with fast trains to central London. Although I recommend the hotel, I don't advise you to visit the attached restaurant, which served very nasty cheap food in dim and murky surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed here early May 2014. Rooms spotless and very big, staff welcoming and very helpful. I paid £29 for the night absolute bargain. I would pay more to stay here. Better than hotels you pay £100 per night

Room Tip: Tea & Coffee facilities in the room don't be afraid to ask for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The location of this Premier Inn is ideal, just a few minutes walk to the station for trains to London but also with Epping Forest on the doorstep for countryside walks... we have stayed here before and it has always been very good; clean, spacious, comfortable rooms and a restaurant with reasonably priced tasty food.
One downside for us is not being able to open the windows in the room, because we were told, they are original leaded glass and for guests' safety (lead poisoning) and protection of the listed windows, they have to be sealed behind a sheet of tough plastic... the air conditioning works well, but when you crave fresh air there is no substitute... no doubt we will be back though...

Room Tip: Access to top floor is 'stairs-only' but there is a lift to the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Situated on the edge of Epping Forrest and a 10 min walk from Chingford Station this hotel provides the ideal location for visiting London and the surrounding area. As the building is a,listed building the top floor rooms seem a little small and you have to stand on your toes to see out of the window but there is plenty of storage space and the bathroom is in good condition. Shower had good pressure throughout and everything was in good working order. The bed was big but I felt the mattress may need replacing shortly due to the roll together in the middle.The lift only goes up to the 1st floor so if you have a lot of heavy bags, watch out! WiFi is good value at £3 per day and staff are on hand to bring up extra pillows and towels. The service us excellent throughout being both friendly,polite and professional at all times. Food in the restaurant is cooked to order so was always fresh and hot. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room choose one at the back on the upper floor. Smaller but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Located beside Epping Forrest this is a new (2012) conversion of an old landmark building. Rooms are newly decorated and clean, the bed was comfortable but the room was small and windows could not be opened.

Unfortunately a few problems turned an average hotel into a below average experience .....

The room (206) was located along 2 winding corridors and up two staircases (the lift only went up 1 floor). The room had been set up for 1 despite a double being booked and paid for. After 3 attempts to get a second towel we resorted to shouting which finally worked. Reception was also able to provide coat hangers (long walk back to reception as rooms have no phones). When we checked out the receptionist explained this was a common problem as their computer often books 3rd party website bookings as single occupancy regardless of what was booked.

At breakfast I checked in with my room number and was presented half way through with a bill " that needs to be paid before you leave the restaurant". A request that it be added to my room was rejected - the Premier Inn (accommodation) is a separate business to Premier Inn (restaurant) despite common signage and sharing a building. Embarrassed ( I rarely carry a wallet at breakfast) I was finally able to settle the bill with a crumpled note and lose change from my pockets ... I have never before stayed in HALF a hotel.

Overall this could be a good hotel but the management needs to rethink how it runs things and try staying in its own hotel to find the annoying quirks that spoil the guests experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chingford, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

For a budget hotel chain Premier does what it does very well and this hotel does it even better than its peers. Lovely location in Epping Forest with great connections to London. Rooms have all the basics but would benefit from some better entertainment options like Sky Sports.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chingford

Address: Ranger's Road | Chingford, London E4 7QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chingford 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chingford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chingford London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chingford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.