We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Perkin Reveller

Perkin Reveller
The Wharf at The Tower of London | Tower Hill, London EC3N 4AB, England (City of London)
+44 20 3166 6949
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Perkin Reveller is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,538 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Overlooking the Thames on the historic Tower Wharf at the Tower of London, Perkin Reveller is a fantastic restaurant experience in the very heart of London. A place to gather and celebrate life's simple pleasures, this modern day dining hall serves delicious food made from the finest seasonal British ingredients, and complemented with foaming jugs of locally brewed beer, exceptional wines and the best tea in England!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a nice place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I've only got a few words and that's "condescending staff" and what's with the tea? " we did not like it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    145
    38
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Enjoyed a small family get-together here on Good Friday. Lovely afternoon menu - sweet and savoury treats. Mushrooms on toast were delicious. Scones very nice too. Great location by the river, airy and bright inside. Staff efficient and friendly. Looking forward to my next visit. (feedback for management - toilets were a bit messy (but understandable because it was so busy) and we thought the Bloody Mary was a bit ex for 8.50 for the size).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, General Manager at Perkin Reveller, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for your feedback. The afternoon menu caters for both the sweet and savoury diners so it is fantastic you enjoyed both.

We appreciate your understanding with regards to the negative aspects of your visit. I would like to assure you this is something we are taking seriously and we are in the process of solving the cleanliness of the wash rooms and our Bar Manager is on the case with regards to the Bloody Mary!

I hope you will join us again soon for lunch or dinner and to try the other cocktails on our Bar menu. The 1894 is a must have !

Kind Regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I booked a table in advance for 6 of us including 3 children. The service was excellent, the food was delicious and there were clean plates all round. The restaurant is situated on the riverbank just outside The Tower of London with a beautiful view of Tower Bridge. Definite don't listen to the bad reviews!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, General Manager at Perkin Reveller, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Johanna,

It was a pleasure having you and your family dine with us here at Perkin Reveller.

We do indeed have a magical location and we also pride ourselves in both the product we serve and the service we deliver. Its fantastic to hear that you appreciated both on your visit.

I hope next time you are in London you will visit us again!

Hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An absolute must! DON'T BELIEVE THE BAD REVIEWS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Yes great views etc but so nice to go somewhere with a menu that gets me salivating at the mere thought of it! Compliments to the chef as they say!! I'm hungry now! Best get back down to Perkin Reveller! Can't wait for my next visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Last request”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Am just back home in Scotland after a few days in London. Had to come back here again, just amazing as ever...if i had a last request it would be this..Mussels with cider, bacon and leeks, followed by Skate with the chorizo sausage and pearl barley....and if i had any room left, which funnily enough..i always do, l would have the scrummy Chocolate with sea salt and the mousse!!!! as l said before pure heaven on a plate.The staff as always very attentive, and what a beautiful setting too. Can't wait for my next visit in July.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P, General Manager at Perkin Reveller, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Laura,

It was great to have you dine with us again at Perkin Reveller. Its sounds like we are fast becoming one of your favourite spots in London!

We look forward to you joining us again on your next visit in July. With our menu changing with the seasons I can guarantee we will have some more delights for you to try not just on our lunch and dinner menu but our cocktail menu too!

See you in a few months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkin Reveller also viewed

 

Been to Perkin Reveller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perkin Reveller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.