We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole

Il Girasole
189 Garratt Lane | Southfields, London SW18 4 DR, England
020 8870 0931
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Girasole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
2,368 helpful votes 2,368 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very much a local Italian but now attracting lots of people from far and wide. We come several times a year because my sister lives on the grid just close by. Always busy, very friendly, nice buzz, helpful staff and near perfect Italian food. Lots of descriptions in earlier reviews which admirably echo our experiences. I highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent and genuine delicious Italian food. Strolled in off chance with some friends
who all thoroughly enjoyed the various different dishes .Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal with friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We met a friend at Il Girasole on our first night in London. We loved the food and ambiance - small, intimate, great (GREAT) service. Nicely done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bravo!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here with my wife on a sat afternoon great place the owner was very nice and chatted away to us his service was great very casual like the decor loved the food.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visited this restaurant after reading the reviews and wanting to find a good Italian Restaurant *non franchised* in london for a while. I was pleasantly surprised to find this little gem. Although pretty much across the other side of london from me I found it was definitely worth the journey. The starter was a sign of things to come. Perfect and delicious. All the courses that followed were just as good if not even more tasty than the last. Fresh food, presented perfectly on a fine dining level. Alessandro (who I'm sure is the owner) was very welcoming and friendly and is quite the character. He was very appreciative of the compliments we made about the food when in the restaurant and seemed very humbled by them, but it is much deserved. I would definitely make this journey again to this restaurant and you will definitely be having my custom as regular as possible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girasole also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Girasole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.