We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London Blackfriars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London Blackfriars to your Saves list
Ibis London Blackfriars
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #198 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very close to Southwark tube stop and the South Bank. Easy walk to the National Theatre and Royal Festival Hall, Old and Young Vics, the Globe, and the Tate Modern.

The room is small by most standards, but decent by London budget standards. The beds are comfortable, and I appreciated both air conditioning and a window that opened. The staff at the desk and the restaurant were lovely.

There is no storage in the bathroom, though--not even a single small shelf in the shower--and in my room the shower leaked all over the floor, which was inconvenient. Housekeeping didn't service my room two of the days; I came back to a bag of clean towels and tea supplies with the do not disturb sign hanging. (I'm sure I did not leave the sign up; it was very odd.) I imagine this could have been rectified easily, but I didn't mind. But some people might be upset by it.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment your stay with us. I have taken a good note of your remark related to the service of the room and I would like to confirm that this point has been adressed straight away with our housekeeping team. Thank you as well for your valuable remark with regards to the bathroom. We are always looking forward to receive that type of feedback in order to help us work on improving our guest satisfaction. Thank you once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    832
    145
    27
    15
See reviews for
330
749
87
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

close to metro, clean, had safe, good variety breakfast, very plain room, great shower, everything you might need such as computer with internet, iron, they even let us borrow an adapter. The staff was friendly and the lobby decor was modern chic

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in London and that you have been pleased by our hotel. Thank you for your feedback !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good location for business travelers, average rooms as you'd expect from Ibis, strangely no mobile signal in my first floor room unless I dangled the phone out of the window. Looks like an old 60s building conversion, so all that steel reinforced concrete probably doesn't help. Unfortunately my room was dead opposite the lifts, so sleep was a bit random with the grinding of the lift cables at 3am. Overall OK but pricey for an Ibis even in central London. Better value for money around. Room aircon was good.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for mobile signal. Insist on change if near lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment following your stay in our hotel. Thank you as well for mentioning the quality of the phone signal in the room, I will have this point investigated. Please allow me to present you my deepest apologies if this might have caused you any inconvenience. I hope you will give us the chance to welcome you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I had low expectations for this hotel, as I've stayed in some pretty run down IBIS Hotels in the past, but after the initial shock of what I can only describe as a "plastic pod" ensuite toilet in the room the charm of this hotel starts to come through. Very helpful staff on check in who listen to your needs and genuinely try and help. Thank god for the air conditioning at the moment due to hot temperatures in London - quiet and works well. Rooms clean and tidy and TV channels all work. Breakfast was a nice surprise too - good selection of full English, Crumpets and Continental ( nice fresh croissants). Again, very helpful staff at breakfast. Nice bar area, and decent bar menu. They're getting the formula right here for guests and the hotel managers and staff should be proud of themselves.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I have been really pleased to discover your comment and to see that we have managed to change your perception of the ibis brand. Thank you for having rated us so well and for having mentioned the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I have shared with them all your comment ! It has been a pleasure to welcome you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. and our favorite part of the hotel was def the location. It is just a block or 2 from the Southwark underground station, which meant that we were able to take public transportation everywhere.

the rooms themselves were soo tiny. Very clean, but super small. given the price that we paid, I was expecting something a bit more. the worse part was the bathroom, again very clean but too too small. it literally looked like a space capsule, not much bigger than an airplane bathroom.

the hotel staff was very nice and efficient in whatever we needed, checking in and out, any questions we had.

I don't think we'll return but only because the rooms were too small, other than that we had no issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review here following your stay in our hotel. I am sorry to read that your experience with us did not entirely meet your expectations with regards to the room dimensions. I am pleased to see though that our team has been able to provide you with a high level of service and that you found our location practical ! Thank you once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in London
#178 Business Hotel in London
#207 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 2*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Blackfriars England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London Blackfriars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.