We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, good music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiette Anglaise

Assiette Anglaise
489 Liverpool Road | Islington, London N7 8NS, England
020 7609 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #673 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food, good music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Visited last week on a busy Saturday. After a warm welcome, I was seated at a table next to the window, and while I was waiting for my girlfriend,I had a conversation with the waiter whose knowledge about music and art got me thinking that I perhaps need to do a bit of reading myself. The dinner was amazing, starting with a tangy steak tartare followed by an amazing gnudi, which was light and fluffy. Since we were too full for dessert they even gave us cognac, which was served in a most elegant fashion. Loved every second of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not really sure how this has had such high ratings in the past - have never thought it was particularly brilliant but fine for a hangover breakfast and coffee, however after today's truly appalling service & overpriced food I felt compelled to write a review. If overpriced & average is your bag this is fine, but it felt today like an islington restaurant with a sense of entitlement. Won't be back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The surroundings are pleasantly relaxed and the staff are cool and caring (a difficult combo to pull off). The food is delicious and the wine list is well chosen. Both food and drink are very fairly priced. It was a special experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A plate of French yumminess in Islington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wow. I had a feeling the food was going to be good as I love to pop into Le Peche Mignon, a little hidden gem in Islington run by the same owner. I wasn't disappointed. Assiette Anglaise has a simple, understated ambience; laid back French waiters; and unpretentious prices. The food was excellent and transported us back to fond memories of holidays in France.

We had a platter of saucisson, gherkins and rustic bread to start with; simple, good quality ingredients. We followed this with a delicious dish of tender, melt in your mouth, beef cheek served in a hearty sauce with onions, savoy cabbage and potatoes dauphinoise. For dessert, we had an almond mille feuille served with tasty plums. All of this was punctuated by a carafe of excellent French red wine. What more could you want?

We'll definitely be going back and I will even risk taking the biggest food critic I know, my French dad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“First Time Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I thought this restaurant was going to be overpriced and pretentious before I went. However it really was excellent. The staff were amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assiette Anglaise also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Assiette Anglaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiette Anglaise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.