We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in simple surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assiette Anglaise

Assiette Anglaise
489 Liverpool Road | Islington, London N7 8NS, England
020 7609 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #514 of 17,143 restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Superb food in simple surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

You might expect a restaurant called the Assiette Anglaise in the heart of residential Islington to be painfully trendy, pretentious.and expensive. Not so. This is a lovely little eatery where the food is king and the service exemplary.

The French-influenced menu is quite short but offers more than enough for most tastes. As well as starters each, we ordered for sharing a plate of one of their speciality air-dried hams - utterly delicious and further improved by the appearance of a second, complimentary platter!

Every mouthful went down a treat in our party of six; quail in a mouthwatering jus, belly of pork, onglet of beef... and my own bouillabaisse which was unusually tomato-y in flavour and texture but all the tastier for it.

The wine list is extensive, although on Thursdays they apparently have a bring-your-own evening where corkage is just £3 (we went on a Wednesday, grrrr!).

Service by two helpful guys was highly professional in an informal kind of way. I couldn't help noticing that one of them stood back unobtrusively until there was a break in conversation before presenting menus, bills etc. That's class.

Bill came to about £45 a head - not exactly cheap until I realised almost half was down to my son and his expensive taste in vino which gets even more expensive when I'm paying.

If I had one criticism, it's that the decor is a bit stark, presumably to lend a minimalist bistro-ish atmosphere. But one man's stark is another man's cluttered and it did nothing to spoil a splendid evening's dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    33
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food,friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I thought this restaurant was going to be overpriced and pretentious before I went. However it really was excellent. The staff were amazing. It is without a doubt one of the best meals/experience I have had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The perfect Brunch or Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Delicious tasty food. Exceptional coffee, croissants and brunch. Great service. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first visit and we decided to have the 2 course prix fixe lunch for £12 per person. I had moules in a cream, dill sauce followed by a pork chop, which was cooked perfectly with a crisp layer of fat and it came with greens. My daughter had pork terrine with melba toast followed by pillow light gnocchi. We shared a bottle of house red for £15.50 and as we had some wine left, we decided to have a piece of cheese with it - they charge £3 per cheese and this came with an apple chutney, bread and fresh slices of apple. The service was lovely and the set menu changes weekly. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great tribute to a French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I visited a restaurant with my wife on a our holiday in England. As a French couple and lovers of our cuisine and food in general, we absolutely fell in love with the place. Absolutely professional and the kindest staff, always helpful, nothing seemed to be a problem. The food was superb, definitely worth the price. We've got a lovely table by the window and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and cosy surrounding with a bottle of a red French wine. The experience was amazing. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assiette Anglaise also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Assiette Anglaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assiette Anglaise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.