We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening snack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apero

Apero
2 Harrington Road | The Ampersand Hotel, London SW7 3ER, England (South Kensington)
+44 20 7591 4410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #890 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Take sanctuary from the street-level bustle and dive in to the flavours of the Mediterranean at Apero, the all-day neighbourghood brasserie nestled in the vaulted cellars of the Ampersand Hotel. With leather snugs, Spanish tiled floors and exposed bricks this intimate London restaurant and bar is where South Kensington chick meets Mediterranean zest. Apero chef Chris Golding isn't interested in stuffy gastronomy but creating great, unpretentious food packed with colour and fresh seasonal, ingredients. His easygoing menus are perfect for a relaxed meal, from breakfast to supper. Highlights include our popular sharing menus - flavourful Mediterranean-style eats that work at any hour - and the great value £12.00 Lunch special. Apero's bar is a convivial place to sample our quirky signature cocktails like the Tintoretto or L'Oiseau de Feu, all of them inspired by the collection at the Victoria and Albert museum. You can also experience The Ampersand's wine cellar in The Wine Room, adjacent to Apero, which seats 10 beneath a stunning chandelier. The Wine Room is available for private hire. Just ask our events team for details. Sharing Menu - £30 per person Lunch special - 2 courses/3 courses - £12.00/£15.00
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice evening snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped by for a very late snack, and they prepared some really nice small courses for us, all very good and some of them with unexpected combinations. Friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    43
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped in for a quick drink after checking in to the hotel. Having had a couple of drinks we decided that we would have lunch. After finding it near impossible to decide what to have off the menu we opted for the Chef's selection at an incredibly reasonable £28.00 per head for 5 Courses.

Well, not really knowing what to expect it was the perfect way to experience this gastronomic delight. Each course pretty much consisted of two dishes which complimented each other in a way you would find difficult imagine could be better. Perfectly sized portions of each leaving you wishing there was just one or two mouthfuls more. Then topped off with suite that frankly would sit well on any Michelin Star restaurant menu / table.

Thoroughly enjoyed every last second of my time at Apero and couldn't recommend it higher even in its in a surrounding area of such culinary high standards.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trendy, tasty and sophisticated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great atmosphere, wonderful service and tasty food! The prices were pretty good considering the location. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent early dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had an excellent early dinner here, before a concert at the Royal Albert Hall, food was very interesting and tasty, service very good, and they accommodated a gluten free dairy free diet with no problem. Will definitely go again next time I'm in the Kensington area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food to share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place has many specialites and you can choose a selection of different plates to share as "tapas".
The most amazing plate was the beetroot rissotto! gorgeous!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apero also viewed

 

Been to Apero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.