We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Greenwich to your Saves list
Mercure London Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Really lovely hotel with friendly staff, beautiful decor, reasonable prices. only a few minutes walk to the heart go Greenwich. Ate at nearby Guildford Arms one evening (good non touristy food). couldn't fault it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. It will surely be passed on to our teams.
We hope to welcome you back soon and provide with yet another lovely stay.
Kind regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    231
    72
    36
    7
See reviews for
96
339
35
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay for one night. Nice room high up with far views of the London eye. The bathroom was stunning and roomy was large free standing bath and walk in shower with two hand basins. Very nice selection at breakfast and all the staff were very helpful and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I'm delighted you have enjoyed your stay and all your comments will certainly be passed on to the teams.
Once again, thank you and we hope to see you back soon.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were staying as pasrt of a wedding group and had booked some months ago. Trip started off well as got checked in quickly and efficiently. On first inspection our room was a nice size, clean and modern however we immediately noticed it was very warm and the AC, didnt appear to be working at all. We called down stairs and was told it would be attended too while we were out doing some exploring of the local area. We got back and the room was still at the same really high temperature, so we called down again and again we were told some one would look into it. No change of room was offered and we spent the night unable to sleep under the covers as the room was so hot. We called down again in the morning and again was told an engineer would look into. In total on our two night stay we were told on 5 seperate occasions that it would be fixed and if anything the room just got hotter and hotter. We both slept really poorly as a result and took to spending as much time out of the room as we could as it was unbearably. On the final night after the wedding at around 1am we were finally offered a change of room but frankly at that time of the night and after a long day at a wedding we ere too exhausted to do anything. On check out we complained again and after a lengthy conversation with a very disinterested remember of staff we were given a free Breakfast. Wow. We left having spent £150 a night in a hotel room that was unbearably hot and we had a grand total of £20 back. We have both been left feeling pretty disgusted with this and would never consider booking into this chain again. A real shame as the hotel itself was very nice.

Room Tip: Our room or rather oven was 701 so dont let them book you into this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is fairly new and clean. We asked for higher floors after we have booked the two rooms and our request was met without problem. From what I see from other reviews, try to avoid the rooms in the basement as they have small and high windows. The lady (Romy) who served us at the reception when we checked in and out gave us remarkable services and smiles. Breakfast was much better than we expected. Restaurant staff, especially Alain who deserves commendation, are all very good, polite and professional. If you don't mind it a little bit far from central London, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the whole team we thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that Romy and Alain have left a very good impression on you. I'll make sure they are both told about their outstanding work.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogstraten, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Mercure London Greenwich. The room was very nice, clean and well air-conditioned. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was as you'd expect from a four star hotel.
The hotel is very close to the Deptford Bridge DLR stop, with trains regularly passing through. The only disadvantage is that it does take quite a while (about 30 to 40 minutes) to get into the centre of London.

Tips: It is definitely worth taking your time to explore the area nearby the hotel if you're looking for dinner. There is a really nice chippy nearby called 'The Golden Chippy', we had a lovely dinner there. it is run by very friendly and hospitable people. Also on your way to the hotel from the DLR stop at Deptford Bridge, you pass an Indian restaurant. I can't recall the name, but it's next to the Magistrate's Court. It is a small restaurant, where you can get decent food at a low price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I'm sure all our TripAdvisor visitors will find your feedback extremely helpful. I'm glad you have found the area of Deptford Bridge and Greenwich to our liking. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel and provide you with the same lovely stay or even better.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was excellent. Nicely decorated, very, very clean. And oh, the bed! Slept like a dream! The rooms aren't big, but comfy nonetheless. Breakfast is excellent. If you book your room a couple of months in advance, it's affordable. Last minutes are quite expensive!

The hotel is close to Deptford Bridge DLR services (5 minute walk) and it's 30 minutes away from London's city centre (Bank Underground Station). It's also conveniently close to the o2-arena (we traveled to London to watch Monty Python Live). It's a 15 minute walk to Greenwich Market and Cutty Sark (or 2 stops with DLR). Loads of fun there!

Mercure London Greenwich is highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the team we thank you for your lovely comments. I'm sure your comments will be helpful to future guests staying with us. We hope you have enjoyed the show and we look forward to see you soon, perhaps not for a Monty Pyhton show but one of the other amazing shows at the O2.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London , Greenwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#127 Business Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
#171 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Mercure London Greenwich Hotel is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory.This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.