We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay in Greenwich, London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Greenwich

Save Saved
You added Mercure London Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure London Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 1,075 hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Three night stay in Greenwich, London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We chose this hotel partly from previous reviews and partly because of its location; we were not disappointed. It is situated a couple of hundred yards from Deptford Bridge station on the Docklands Light Railway and was quite easy to locate. On arrival we were greeted by very efficient reception staff and we were soon on our way to the 9th and top floor of the hotel. We had booked what they call a 'privilege' room and we noted all rooms on this floor were in that category. The mini-bar was stocked with various types of water and soft drinks and was included in the privilege. It has been mentioned elsewhere that the bathroom door is opaque glass, which is true, but the entire door is covered in text relating to Kings and Queens over the centuries and in any case the door was around the corner from the main part of the room.
We found the room very comfortable and peaceful and the view from the window included many of the tall buildings in the Canary Wharf area in the distance. As there is only one row of rooms at this level, outside the room is a viewing area looking in the opposite direction.
Being near the DLR station, it was a simple matter to take the train two stops to Greenwich (Cutty Sark) and then explore Greenwich with the Observatory, the Zero Meridian line and of course the Cutty Sark itself. We also took the DLR in the opposite direction to Bank station on the London Underground where the DLR terminates; from there we were able to visit many parts of central London.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as we found the staff friendly and helpful and the Breakfast was well stocked with a variety of different foods which should cater for most tastes. In the evening you can visit the restaurant or eat in the bar area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the top floor although privilege rooms cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such comprehensive and positive feedback about your stay. It is always a great pleasure to receive such great comments and I am really glad that you found the team to be very friendly and helpful. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    173
    53
    24
    5
See reviews for
71
241
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having stayed at some of the Mercure's rivals in the middle of Greenwich over the past few years, I was a little dubious about being put further out from the town centre in another mid-price chain hotel. I was pleasantly surprised.
Yes, you have an extra five minute walk into Greenwich, but for that you get fresh, well appointed rooms, decorated with a local flavour. The hotel is far enough from the main road to suffer any traffic noise. Breakfast was par for any hotel in this price bracket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you had a good stay with us and found the hotel well located. We hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has been renovated to high standard with new carpets and furnishings. However, the rooms are extremely small, the shower doors are a design feature that is opaque so that there is no privacy from noise or sight from the person sharing the room with you.
I had to buy some blue-tack and black garbage bags, to create privacy. The beds face the bathroom door. The furnishings are so large and every spare space is filled with furniture. Inadequate lighting over the desk area, difficult to see.

Room Tip: All rooms have opaque bathroom doors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that the room you stayed in was not to your liking. Our rooms vary in size and my personal suggestion for future stays would be to book a privilege room which offers more space and fantastic views over London. We have noted your comments with regards to the bathroom door and are currently looking into finding a solution for it. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for a our wedding night and it was lovely. Stayed in an executive room. Very modern hotel with quick efficient service. Room was a nice size, very clean and the bathroom was very nice, fancy taps. We took a nice walk into Greenwich the next day which wasn't far from the hotel at all.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Congratulations and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service our team have provided and the walk into Greenwich. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

a really nice hotel just a bit hard to find.!!
well worth staying if you are going to london and dont want silly prices and miserable staff..!!
rooms are very nice wi fi is good and overall very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. It is wonderful to read that you found our staff to be very friendly and that you were happy with the room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Handy for DLR line, nearer Deptford Bridge than Greenwich - about 10 mins walk into center of Greenwich. Reasonable parking charges (for London) but book in advance.
Hotel appears recently decorated/refurbished, room and bathroom very clean and tidy.
Bathroom had the most informative door of any hotel I have ever stayed in
Staff very friendly and helpful. Lively bar at night.Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recommendation. We are very pleased you liked the staff and environment and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room was fresh and modern, I liked the historical trivia on the sliding door in the room. The tray charge for room service is reasonable.

The location is good for getting to both Canary Wharf and central London. It took me about 8 mins walk to get to Greenwich station.

The ironing boards are less than good, they are small and unstable.

Overall I'd visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can only agree that our location is well located for central London visitors and Canary Wharf. We have noted your comments regarding the iron board and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London , Greenwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in London
#126 Business Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
#183 Romantic Hotel in London
#284 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Greenwich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Mercure London Greenwich Hotel is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory.This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Mercure London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.