We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Greenwich to your Saves list
Mercure London Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the London area. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and delivered top class service in a great location.

Our room was on the 8th floor and had spectacular views of London.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have an upgrade to the 8th or 9th floor - the views of London are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is always such a pleasure for me to read about the experiences our team members are creating for our guests, and I will be delighted to share your kind words with them. I am pleased that you enjoyed the spectacular views from our privilege rooms and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    231
    72
    36
    7
See reviews for
96
339
35
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. What a great find! Fabulous decor, great service, wonderfully comfortable, and really helpful staff. Attention to detail was quite remarkable and the only problem I had was noise from fellow guests who were up early and talking at full volume whilst waiting for the lift. The food in the restaurant was delicious and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts as the noise of people talking whilst waiting seems to go straigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our staff really helpful. We encourage our guests to tell us about their preferences; we will do our utmost to fulfil guest’s needs to make their stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcome you back and to hear your thoughts after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived on Friday after booking a travelodge in Woolwich, and the air con was broke, so phoned the Mercure, and yes they had availability and fitted us in a family room. We were in Greenwich for my brothers wedding. We arrived and the room was ready in 15 minutes. WOW!! is all I can say it was huge it was a suite on the ground floor with a view of a small park. It was a fab room. When we had breakfast I asked did they have any gluten free bread I was expecting a no, but the lovely waitress said oh yes I will go and make you some toast, fantastic service yet again. We had a small area of the bar reserved Saturday evening for my brothers night of the wedding and nothing was too much much trouble, the bar staff were excellent, the staff on the front desk couldnt be more helpful. Definitely will be coming back to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A bit tucked away, this hotel is 2-3 minutes' from Deptford Bridge DLR station and a couple of stops from Greenwich Maritime, for access to Cutty Sark etc. The welcome and check-in were friendly and efficient; the room large with big glass-fronted shower room/WC with excellent toiletries and fluffy towels. The glass is printed with historic dates about Greenwich. Tea/coffee making facilities good. I didn't have breakfast or eat in the restaurant so can't comment on those. Bed was firm and comfortable, with good seating area/desk and accessible plugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that the team made you feel welcome. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Modern hotel with lovely décor. Hotel is set on a quiet street, but is in convenient location for travel into downtown London as it is close to the DLR train (walking distance). MOST IMPORTANTLY… I want to give a warm thank you to NICK and HASAAN (gentlemen at the front desk). They were a kind and helpful and big contributors in making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel with its décor and the quiet location with fantastic transport links to central London. I am pleased that Nicolas and Hassan made you feel welcome. They will be happy to hear your comments. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel – literally a hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle of London. The hotel is close to Deptford Bridge DLR station (about a 5 minute walk) located in a quiet residential street. It is also about 10 minutes walk to Greenwich station where as well as the DLR you can catch a train to London Bridge (journey time around 10 minutes).

The facilities in the room were excellent – you can control the temperature of your room and the lighting on the TV. There is a choice of “pay to view” movies and good choice of TV/radio channels. The bathroom was a good size with a great shower The bed was comfy and the room had blackout blinds to ensure a good night’s sleep. There is also free Wi-Fi.
A 15 minute walk will take you to historic Greenwich or catch the DLR and alight at Cutty Sark station. You can also travel to Canary Wharf for a choice of restaurants and shops. There is a good Waitrose supermarket here and places to eat alfresco if you are on a budget. If you want to be a little more adventurous catch a DLR train to Stratford (you sometimes have to change trains at Canary Wharf - just cross the platform) and go to the Westfield Shopping Centre – for a huge selection of shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema.

The breakfast room is located in the basement of the hotel and is one of the better buffet breakfasts I have experienced with plenty of choice. You will be offered tea or coffee on arrival. If you want coffee I suggest you ask for a cappuccino, latte or espresso as the filter coffee is a little bitter. The staff at the hotel are all friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble. This is a new hotel and if this level of service continues it will become my hotel of choice to stay when in London.
If you are travelling to London for business or pleasure this hotel is a great place to stay. If you book in advance you will get a great room rate too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a guaranteed good night's sleep. The rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and had a good night sleep. I agree that the hotel’s location is well situated for central London visitors or business guests working in Canary Wharf. We are delighted that Mercure London Greenwich is your first choice in London and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A quiet hotel just off of the main routes around Greenwich, the historical centre was about a ten minute walk away.
Easy access to the docklands lights railway.
Staff friendly and helpful
Rooms chic and comfy
Lovely restaurant ..though breakfast was pretty standard

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is great to read that you did benefit from the hotels location and liked the modern design of the hotel rooms. See you on your next trip hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London , Greenwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#123 Business Hotel in London
#158 Luxury Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Mercure London Greenwich Hotel is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory.This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.