We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for honeymoon amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Greenwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Greenwich to your Saves list
Mercure London Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Booked for honeymoon amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We were booked in by family for our honeymoon for a week saturday 16th - 23rd of Feb.,after being married at Norwich Cathedral. We arrived by car and found hotel easily,with handy secure car parking. Amazed by decor and high standard of decor .all staff very friendly and only to pleased to help,from directions into london city to general service. Food of superb quality and price along with the bar menu and drinks.we ate out on several occasions,and the quality of hotel was as good!! Lovely warm comfy rooms,quick room service,and so friendly staff even at busy times,Elliot behind bar kept us entertained most evenings.Hassan the service manager is great friendly guy,but all staff to be honest we're!!oh,and don't be alarmed by the noises as you walk in front doors,look up and see the projections being shown on floor !! Keeps you entertained for hours!! Will be back for anniversary next year for sure !!thankyou all at mercure in Greenwich. Simon and Emma

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Congratulations & great to hear you will be back to us for your anniversary. We are so pleased with your kind comments, especially Elliot & Hassan who are delighted to get a mention – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    231
    72
    36
    7
See reviews for
96
339
35
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure a couple of weeks ago whilst on a break to London. We found the room to be gorgeous and the facilities and room service was fantastic. We could not compliment the staff enough, who bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

Our first morning at breakfast was absolutely lovely! Staff were bright as buttons and very chirpy. The food was fantastic also.

Very unfortunately, we found our last morning at breakfast disappointing, the waitress seemed tired and impatient and made us feel rushed and uncomfortable.We are a young couple and almost felt she bordered on being patronising! Such a huge massive shame as up until that point we were really blown away by how lovely everyone was, she really let down the rest of her team and put a bit of a damper on the end of our weekend.

We will definitely reccomend this hotel and give this lady the benefit of the doubt and assume she was just having a VERY bad day!!!

Otherwise thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Oh dear, I really do hope you give us the benefit of the doubt and return again soon. It is very kind of you to write such favourable initial comments and for thanking us for your weekend, may I sincerely apologise on behalf of the team member and thank you on behalf of the other staff you have complimented – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros: good value for money and smart location for business travellers. The hotel is next to Deptford Bridge DLR station for Canary Wharf and Bank. It's close to LCY, too, and it may take less than 30 minutes to get from/to the airport by public transport. Staff is friendly, attentive, multinational and multilingual.
Cons: the bathroom may be colder than the bedroom and it lacks, ahem, a toilet brush: this makes Mercure Greenwich fall short of the top score.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Positive review and thank you, pleased you like staff and accept your comments on a cold tiled bathroom in winter – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orgeres, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only stayed one night -for a friend's civil partnership- and the hotel was chosen for us but we will certainly be back. I worked in aviation for well over 40 years and have stayed in many hotels world-wide, including a few Mercures. I was expecting an average 3-star but what we got was a 4-star class act. This was one of my best hotel experiences. The hotel is situated in a quiet close, just off the A2, a main road into London from Kent. The environs are very average South London with heavy traffic to match but this Mercure is an oasis of calm, The building is a restored art-deco Metropolitan Police college and has only this past New Year's Eve been fully open as a hotel. My immediate impression was favourable as there was only one, discreet, Mercure sign so we nearly missed the building altogether. Both the front and rear doors (which led to the car park) were elegant as are the other public areas such as the lobby, bar and restaurant. That added to my favourable impression.
The atmosphere of discreet elegance is added to by the presence of only one check-in "podium". Agreed, at busy periods that could lead to congestion, but otherwise, as mentioned, it adds to the classy appearance.
Our room was well-appointed and with good quality and tasteful fixtures, fittings and furnishings. One of our requirements is a good shower that delivers a good stream of water. Check! Another aspect of the bathroom that I liked was the glass doors to it. Printed onto the doors is an impressive royal history of Greenwich and Blackheath. It's just a pity that in describing how Greenwich was made a Royal Borough in 2012, one of the 3 other Royal Boroughs in London is described on the doors as Kensington and Cheslea (sic). Sack the sign writer!
A couple of other ✓
Free Internet: ✓
Free secure parking: ✓

I mentioned the elegance of the public areas; the bar and restaurant certainly qualify in that respect. While we didn't make use of the bar, we did use the restaurant and the quality and quantity of food served at dinner was excellent. The breakfast buffet was also good.

Our only complaint was that the room was very hot at night. We discovered that the room controls are currently overridden by the centralised aircon/heating system. The only escape was to open a window, but at least we were able to do that. Our room was on the same side of the building as the generators that power that system but at least we were on the 5th floor and so didn't suffer unduly from noise. On checking out, though, the Duty Manager did tell us that that issue would be fixed so that guests would be able to set their room temperature individually. On that score, and on the score of getting a decent view, I would advise requesting a room on the 6th floor or above. We could see the London Eye and the spire of a nearby Wren church but the upper floors would get a much better view.

We live out in the Cotswolds but as and when we want to sightsee in London in future we will definitely be back. Hope the rates don't go up in the meantime. We thought £119.00 for our double room, including breakfast, was very reasonable. The hotel is certainly handy for local attractions such as The Royal Observatory, the Cutty Sark and the Royal Naval College but you can also get into central London very easily by various means of public transport.

If I didn't mention it earlier, the staff were all excellent and provided great service. As seems common in the U.K. these days, staff in service industries seem to be drawn from Eastern European countries. That certainly applied here but all spoke very good English and were most pleasant.

All-in-all, a delightful experience. As Arnold might have said, "we'll be back".

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 6th floor or above for a good view of the sights of Greenwich and London and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
What a stupendous review, thank you very much Martin. We are delighted you liked the facilities and staff. It's great to hear you are looking forward to a return visit. Hurry back - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This relatively new hotel is quite impressive in décor and amenities. However, our room on the first floor had zero view - it was like being in a basement. Outside our room appeared to be the plant for the whole hotel, generating a constant loud hum all night, which kept us awake. It was rather like being on a long flight with the constant drone of the engines.
If that wasn't bad enough, the heating controls did not work on one of the coldest nights of the year.
On complaining to reception on check-out, I was disappointed that no effort was made to compensate for these problems.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor facing car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Ron, it looks like we could have got it better on this trip and I am sorry you did not get a good night sleep. Do let me know when you are next staying and I will arrange a high floor with an excellent view – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent Saturday night and was really impressed with the quality of the hotel, its secure car park and the staff who were really helpful and courteous. We ate in on the evening as there was not a great deal to choose from close to the hotel. Bill was about £30 pp, which included a couple of drinks, the food being really good. My only complaint relates to the noise of the air conditioning units, which are located on the car park side of the hotel and which kept me awake for long periods during the night. Having said that the hotel has a luxury feel to it and although the rooms are not large they are very well designed and appointed- we all thought they had a bit of a wow factor. If you are driving and using sat nav the post code on the website is incorrect.

Room Tip: Choose an even numbered room as these are the furthest away from the air con units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted you are impressed with the hotel and staff, and we are thrilled you thought the rooms had a bit of WOW factor. I will have a word with the building contractor and investigate the plant noise you mention, thank you for bringing it to my attention – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just stayed for 2 nights in a privilege room on the 8th floor and enjoyed every minute! The people at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful with everything.
The room is very nice decorated and the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is nice also and the coffee machine is a treat!
Enjoy a drink in the bar during the night, all the employees are friendly and make you feel at home!
The breakfast is great and again all the employees make the start of your day a happy one.
Keep up with this all and you soon will be much higher in the top 100list from trip adviser!
We will definitely come back when we come to London Greenwich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Mercure London Greenwich, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a resounding thumbs up; from the bed and bathroom through to breakfast and the bar. I have always felt that a hotel is just a building and it is the staff that makes the experience and thus the difference. Thank you for noticing – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove | Greenwich, London SE10 8FR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London , Greenwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#123 Business Hotel in London
#158 Luxury Hotel in London
#170 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Mercure London Greenwich Hotel is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory.This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.