We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak cooked to perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heliot Steakhouse

Heliot Steakhouse
Cranbourn Street | The Hippodrome, London WC2H 7JH, England (Soho)
+44 20 7769 8844
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Heliot Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #220 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $61
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, British, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: A gourmet oasis elevated above the glamorous gaming floor, Heliot Restaurant, Bar & Lounge brings modern British cuisine to the landmark Hippodrome casino. This cosmopolitan casino restaurant is headed by chef Barry Vera, who takes inspiration from the site's illustrious heritage, by injecting exciting twists into time-honoured recipes. A fashionable destination for American beers and cooling concoctions, the Heliot bar is a curved, glowing spectacle in the restaurant's centre. Renowned mixologist Tony Cogliaro brings innovative cocktail mixes to this famous London setting.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steak cooked to perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Came here with a few friends of which one had eaten here before and recommended it whilst we were visiting Leicester Square. What a recommendation it was too!
We arrived later on on a Wednesday night but it wasn't a problem. The lady serving us was very polite and seemed as if she would have catered for any of our needs.
I ordered a medium Sirlion steak, cooked medium rare with a side of house fries. It came within good time and was cooked to perfection. Only had to merely press the knife against the meat and it fell apart.
The rest of the group equally enjoyed their meals.
Very good value considering where you are and the quality of the food. Came to around £30 a head for a main course.
Little warning that the large T-Bone is massive. Only order if you are really hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Jack D. Thank you for taking your friends recommendation and giving us a try! We feel honored when we get people talking about us! It is great to hear you enjoyed the entire atmosphere, service, food and value that we have to offer here in the Hippodrome. We still strive to surprise all on what we have to offer here but do hope that word keeps spreading on our high value at the lowest cost to you. Please do come back soon and enjoy all that is on offer inside the Hippodrome! See you soon. The very best, The Hippodrome Casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    101
    19
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ZRH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Visited on an early Friday evening in May for 'dinner for two'.

Loved the atmosphere though should have booked for later hours (one can taste the full 'casino flavor' if arriving after 9pm).

Very attentive waiting staff and good service, nice seating on a balcony above the casino floor. If you want to enjoy a drink before dinner, visit the bar first, it was crowded when we arrived. We enjoyed the drink at the table.

The food was very nice, the fillet - very tender and cooked to perfection; steak there is obviously the perfect choice.

Very recommendable!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello adswiss. Thank you very much for your review of your night out with us. The atmosphere in the Hippodrome is electric! The steakhouse oversees all the action and we are thrilled you were able to come in and spend night with us. From cocktails, food, service, ambiance and the ability to continue into the late hours is what sets us apart. The staff love to hear this feedback and will be sure to pass along. All of the teams here work hard to deliver amazing service, high quality food all in an atmosphere that makes it hard to leave! We do hope to see you and your friends again soon! The very best- The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“30th Birthday Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went to Heliot Steakhouse as part of my sisters 30th birthday celebrations in London. As soon as we entered we were asked for ID even though we are ALL over 25 and look it so you need to take your ID. Luckily they looked at our wrinkles and believed we were older than 18!
The first impression of the place was great,very grand! We were taken up to the 3rd floor for the restaurant. The staff were very attentive and catered to our needs. You get complementary bread whilst you wait for your steak to be cooked which they kept topping up which is ideal! Be careful the water is not free it's £4 a bottle and they keep bringing more bottles,be aware of that!
The meal was delicious. We had the lobster and steak combo for £15. It was lovely and came with your choice of sauce.
When the bill came the service charge was already added at 12% which I think is far too high and we should choose what we want to pay. You have to pay the 12%!
Overall we were very pleased with the meal and the service,they even added a nice "happy birthday" on my sisters plate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello Hkc28. Thank you for taking time to review your night out with us. We are happy you chose the Hippodrome to celebrate your sisters birthday. I understand that you were frustrated with the entrance policy but security has to ensure 18 and over at all times, as this is the law. It is nice to hear you all were able to come into Heliot and enjoy your dinner. We do offer still, sparkling and tap water to all our tables and allow our guests to make their decision. As you make your way around London you will find a discretionary service charge of 12.5% added to almost all bills in restaurants, some pubs/lounges and nightclubs. This is optional and can be asked to be removed as you can in any other restaurant. I am happy to hear that the food and service meet your expectations, that the staff went extra on the details by adding "Happy Birthday" for your sister. It is sad that due to our security staff ensuring we follow the law and an optional, yet industry standard 12.5% service charge being added we only were given 3 stars. We do hope to see you again soon and barring these issues will live up to the 5 star service most rate us. The very best- The Hippodrome Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a great time, good food, good wine and and excellent service "performed" by Diogo (Portuguese)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello faldoson. Thank you for taking time to review your night out with us. We do love to hear exactly that "a night out!" The Hippodrome has a unique ability to offer something for everyone. From the cabaret, to the outdoor terrace, poker deck, brand new Lola's Underground gaming to Heliot Steakhouse it is great to hear when we have our guests come in and enjoy all the different elements. Thanks again for reviewing and will surely pass our praise to Diogo. See you again soon! The very best, The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A simply first class night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have eaten at this restuarant several times, and each time it gets better. The food is first class, equal to somewhere like the Savoy Grill, at half the price. Great service and a great setting. The Steaks are equal to the best in London. With a first class wine selction. On our recent visit we went down to the new Lola's bar/casino in the basement. This has been totally refitted and now has very tasteful dancers performing in the eveings. What a first call entertainment venue the Hippodrom is.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello A W. Thank you very much for reviewing your night out with us. It is absolutely great to hear of your continued experiences with us. We do work hard to make sure all have the same thoughts as you do on what we offer here. Not only are the products we offer here of the highest quality, USDA Prime, but at prices un-rivaled in London. Lola's has been receiving amazing feedback and do hope we see you and your friends again soon! Thanks again for your continued support. The very best- The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heliot Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Heliot Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heliot Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.