We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - perfect for the O2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King William Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King William Hotel to your Saves list
King William Hotel
155-159 Trafalgar Road | Greenwich, London SE10 9TX, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 535 London B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel - perfect for the O2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a brilliant stay, it was so convenient for the O2 and also for going into central London sightseeing. Really couldn't rate it highly enough. To find a hotel for this price in London with breakfast is excellent and if you are going to the O2 I doubt there is anything any closer that provides such good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
25
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We didn't know what to expect as this was our first trip to London and I must say we weren't disappointed. Not knowing where the best places were to stay, and having to fit in a trip to V & A museum and the O2 all in an afternoon seemed a bit of a challenge. We decided to end our day at the O2 and so looked for places to stay which were easily accessible from there. The King William Hotel was the place we decided best suited our needs and our budget. We found it easily on the 129/188 bus route from North Greenwich bus station and were warmly welcomed as soon as we set foot inside. We were shown to our room which was spacious and clean, although very warm- but mustn't complain about the weather! Once the window was open it was fine but it was a little too noisy to sleep with it open (that is probably just us though, as we live in a very quiet area). We decided to eat at the hotel as we were tired from our busy day and it was definitely the right choice! The food was freshly cooked and delicious as well as very reasonably priced, and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was just as enjoyable with a varied choice. We wouldn't hesitate to return to The King William.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The King William Hotel was a wonderful surprise and a very good price for London. The welcome was very friendly. We were shown to our room, that's never happened to me before, thought one had to be really rich for that to happen! We had our evening meal there and got 25% off (monday to thursday, I think), it was delicious. Our breakfast was included and that was a lovely full english breakfast, other options were available too. We were going to the Pink concert at the o2. The bus stop was outside the hotel and took only 10 minutes to get there. All of this information was given to us on our arrival by the receptionist and on our information sheet about the hotel. We couldn't have asked for more. A brilliant find, we will definitely stay there again. A must try for you o2 goers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location with excellent transport links to various attractions and quick access to central London. Brilliant for visiting O2 centre (10 mins bus) to see Meatloaf last week. Great value - the room rate included waitress-served breakfast. They had amazing choices cooked to order - pancakes, omlettes as well as full English - not the usual tired buffet. At £99 for two great value. We had a family room - huge with new fixtures and fittings - would have liked a chair but plenty space for clothes etc. Flat screen tv, efficient heating and some traffic noise but hey this is London ! Staff brilliant, couldn't do enough to help. Useful Tesco opposite for water, drinks and nibbles. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it a hidden gem and extremely good value. Whilst a little way from the centre of Greewich it was worth the extra travel. Manager and staff were very friendly and breakfast and evening meals simply excellent
The hotel was refurbished a year ago and everything is new and squeaky clean. At £60 for a single room inc breakfast it was unbeatable and I have stayed in a lot of small London hotels. Greenwich a good area and DLR gets you into cetral London very easily. Deserves to have more people using it and i suggest you do - fully recomended

Room Tip: rear of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed overnight for a conference at the University and have to say thanks for such a comfortable stay. I read the reviews after booking and have to say I can't see why people complain. The distance from the tube is an easy walk and pleasant walk, especially if you cut through the University - 10 / 15 minutes on foot. My welcome was warm. I'd asked for a quite room and had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. £55 and a free upgrade to a double. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the shower hot, bed comfortable. What more do you need? I noted people had commented they were cold but the rooms were very warm. Food was great and the evening meals had 25% off. Breakfast was included with a good choice. The people were attentive and incredibly polite. Worth booking.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the Hotel are nearer the road, ask for a room at the back if traffic distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The King William hotel is on the east side of Greenwich and very near a bus stop. This area is developing with restaurants opening up and other shops. The King William is a traditional solid built London pub building that has recently been developed. The rooms are basic but very clean and the heating works well which is important in the British winter climate. Food was quite good. The bar area is very pleasant. King William is reasonable value. My only criticism is that the kitchen fan system is very loud but as it is an open area there is nothing to easily quieten that down apart from turning up the music. However the hotel has potential and complements the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Hotel

Address: 155-159 Trafalgar Road | Greenwich, London SE10 9TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Greenwich on the famous curve of the River Thames, the King William Hotel offers free Wi-Fi in rooms, restaurant, bars and reception. The O2 Arena is 10 minutes bus ride away. Greenwich Park is a 5-minute walk, and The National Maritime Museum, the Old Royal Navel College, Queens House, Greenwich Market, the Royal Observatory and Cutty Sark are also nearby. Rooms have modern elegant decor, and benefit from a flat-screen TV, DVD player and coffee making facilities. The wooden-floored bar and restaurant serves a menu with freshly prepared food and offers a wide range of drinks. Full English breakfast provided each morning along with a choice of tea, coffee or fresh fruit juice. To access all of the city's popular attractions, central London is a 10-minute tube journey from Greenwich North Tube Station, situated next to the 02 Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your King William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.