We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and atmos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo Cicchetti

San Carlo Cicchetti
215 Piccadilly | Piccadilly Circus, London WIJ 9HL, England
207 4949435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #436 of 17,939 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
cornwall, england
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun and atmos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We shared 7 dishes and a bottle of wine for £72 including service charge and yes, the portions are small, but it's the whole point! Baccala, risotto, scallops gratin, fagioloni, that sort of thing. It's very popular and full and maybe a bit noisy if you don't enjoy the atmosphere, but we did enjoy it and we will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    220
    52
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

San Carlo is already known for it's sky-high standards, and Cicchetti lives up to the hype. Everything was utterly perfect, and I still dream of the truffle-laced carbonara style pasta dish we had. Yes, it's rather pricey & yes, it's entirely worth it. It's going to be expensive, given its location on Piccadilly Circus. We (2) had two bottles of wine, perfectly matched by the waiter to the dishes we had chosen, some specials and a number of dishes from the permanent menu, and the whole lot came to £150 including tips. Staff were attentive and not pushy, but this may have been because the table was booked for 7pm and the crowds had not yet arrived. I will absolutely visit again, when we next need to visit London!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good rather than very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A meal for two including wine came to £85. This seems quite expensive for what is in effect a "tapas" meal (venetian version), lots of small portions brought to your table, not in any particular order and nearly all at the same time - would have been better staggered and slightly hotter! They recommend around 5-6 dishes for 2 people. The lobster risotto and the black ravioli with crab were excellent, the mussels very poor. The service was efficient and friendly but at the end of the meal although the food was on the whole very good we felt that we had eaten more of a snack than a meal even though we had ordered five dishes plus bread. Should we return we would order dishes as we went along. £85 however is rather a lot for a snack!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden dimond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

CHICHETTI does not look like very much from the outside but once inside you are literally stepping into Italy. The food is superb, Italian and authentic, the service is warm and friendly as in a local restaurant in a small town in Italy. We just dropped in and we hit the jackpot. If in London I strongly recommend fitting CHICHETTI into your schedule.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, great Italian tapas and really attentive staff providing impeccable service. Puddings to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo Cicchetti also viewed

 

Been to San Carlo Cicchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo Cicchetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.