We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel, excellent service... A Class Act !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Place Hotel
3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top hotel, excellent service... A Class Act !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently stayed at South Place on a Saturday evening and loved every minute of it !!
From the very welcoming reception staff, who are all immaculately presented, to the modern and pristine rooms (with a huge B&O TV !!) everything felt great. A complimentary morning newspaper too :) The hotel is a class act !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are really glad that you had such a wonderful time at the hotel, we really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

We hope to see you again really soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    49
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
155
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would agree with the one previous reviewer noting that they have no idea how to deal with any customer complaints.

After reviewing the webpage and reading Tripadvisor reviews I was confident that the South Place Hotel would be a good place to stay in London over the weekend, whilst celebrating my husband’s birthday – how wrong was I!

We arrived on a sunny Saturday afternoon to be greeted by a polite Spanish man who although was very nice and friendly, he was also very difficult to understand due to his level of English. We were shown to our room and later called up to make sure the roof terrace was open as we wanted to enjoy a drink in the sun after our long journey. The Spanish man advised that “it must be as it is sunny…” We hiked up to the 7th floor to find that there was no-one there to serve us and went back downstairs to be told by the concierge that it’s closed and so we went elsewhere.

On our return to the hotel we asked for a taxi to be called for us as we had dinner reservations and were told that this would be 10 minutes. 35 minutes later staff had advised us a few times that it would be “5 more minutes” or “2 more minutes”. In the end we flagged down a cab (which would’ve been quicker in the first place) with the help of hotel staff. Naturally this shouldn’t be the staffs’ fault, however, they may wish to consider the taxi companies they use…After dinner we arrived back at the hotel to have a drink at the roof terrace that had been opened earlier. The bartender takes our drinks and offers warm blankets and returns to the bar where he appears to be drinking with three other people. We end up watching him impress his friends with his cocktail making abilities and ten minutes later as I finally get up to go and query after our drinks does the man realise that he still hasn’t brought us our drinks. There was another table of 4 outside at the time who were indeed having cocktails but had just received these on our arrival.

Later that night we struggle with the technology, the wall panel controls don’t seem to work and we can’t get the blinds to come down. I call the reception and a very helpful man comes up to fix the problem, although even he struggles to get the panel controls to work. He advises us to breathe on our fingers before touching the panels, this seems to work.

Throughout our stay the 1st floor bar was never open! And on Sunday also the roof top terrace was closed. We queried about the latter again on Sunday as we would have assumed that surely guests would have been catered for in this situation but we had no such luck. In the end when asked at reception by the blonde Spanish lady “How was your stay?” I explain that it was not great as the facilities I read about on the webpage were closed most of the time. The Spanish lady advises that “Yes, this depends on whether it is sunny” and continues to talk about the restaurants. I feel completely ignored and not heard and after advising that I would just like to pay and go, the lady explains that “I will tell the guy who does the webpage…”

The South Place Hotel probably caters for the corporate traveller during the week, but they should maybe consider closing for the weekend if this is the level of service and access provided to enjoy the facilities. The technology also is great and one of the reasons why I was interested in this hotel, but it doesn’t work. The staff do require a lot more training, in particular on how to deal with unhappy customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback – it is very much appreciated.

We are desperately disappointed that your experience did not live up to expectations and will take the opportunity resolve these issues. The rooftop terrace and garden bar are now open every day when the weather permits following the official launch on Monday 22nd April. We are sorry that you did not get to experience these spaces.

Our General Manager, Bruce Robertson (brucer@southplacehotel.com) would be very grateful for the opportunity to liaise with you directly on the finer points of your stay. Renewed apologies and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to South Place in order that we can win you over as fans of weekends in the city.

Kind regards,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for a girls' weekend in April. Hotel is in a great spot as you are so close to Liverpool station, not to mention a short cab ride away from other great neighborhoods. We got to the hotel very early and although our room was not ready yet, we were served coffee and biscuits in the lobby while mapping out our day which was a lifesaver after waking up for a 7am flight from Zurich.
The staff was attentive, polite, and knowledgeable. The room was VERY clean, and the layout was smart and roomy, especially for two girls with two huge suitcases and lots of shopping bags. The bathroom was our favorite, an over sized tub, CLEAN CLEAN, and bath products you actually want to use.
The rooftop bar has great views and cocktails, however the service here was a bit slow. We came to the bar later in the night (around 11pm), so I think service was only slow since it was right before close- but still worth a trip!
Yes the hotel is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for and we did not have any regrets. From now on when I visit London this will be my top choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback, we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time.

We appreciate your candid review and we hope we will welcome you back to South Place Hotel really soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the South Place Hotel for the first time in November 2012. We had a superb experience but were disappointed with the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room which we would expect to be standard in a hotel of this quality. To my surprise, the manager of the hotel answered my review (which gave four stars) and offered tea and coffee making facilities on our next stay.

Well, I'm pleased to report that we stayed for a second time earlier this month and we did indeed have these facilities in our room. Unfortunately there was no milk but impressive response all the same.

This is a truly superb hotel and should be seen as a gold standard to achieve by other London hotels. Thank you to all the staff (and Manager) for providing such a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave an updated review, we're really pleased that we were able to win you over as a fan.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and if on your next visit you would like some milk with your tea and coffee making facilities, our Room Service team will be happy to provide it. Simply give them a ring when you check in.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now, once with my wife and also a couple of weeks ago for a birthday weekend with family. The hotel is just brilliant and caters for everything and everyone. We had two small children who absolutely loved it.

The rooms are just luxury, especially the bathrooms. I don't go to hotels to watch TV but how can you refuse when you have those TVs in your rooms?!

The bar is great and serves any cocktail you could imagine long into the night. Its one of those places where everything is right, all of the time. I will definitely be back, and looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We're really glad you and your family had such a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but attended a meeting and had lunch here. Service was great and lunch was lovely except the portions could have been a bit bigger. Also would have been better if the outside bar had been open.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your lunch meeting at South Place. We're delighted that you enjoyed the space, the lunch and the service. I have shared your feedback on portion sizes with our Chef so that he is aware.

Unfortunately you caught our outside bar on a rare day that it wasn't open. However, now with the weather swiftly improving, you'll find our roof terrace and secret garden ready to welcome guests day and night - downpours and hurricanes notwithstanding.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a night's stay, or to enjoy a lunch meeting in the sun on our roof terrace.

Best regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

London hotels (at least the business type) just keep getting better and better
I have been fortunate to have spent at least 6 stays at the hotel since it opened in september. Initially it was super easy to get a room and now you have to book a couple of weeks in advance as it has become rightfully popular..
Firstly the uniquely good things here: the video on demand is all free (yay:P) and the bathrooms are excellent. Whilst the rooms are not big enough to have a separate rainforest shower, one is included as part of the huge bath. It is therefore almost as good as the real thing and allows for a slightly bigger bedroom. These are the best baths I have experienced in London. The tub itself was super wide and nice and deep - absolutely fantastic.
The bed was comfortable as well as the furniture in general and the internet was good.
The lobby of the hotel was very small as it to be expected with this type of hotel but like the Andaz and Apexes it was very nice. Overall i liked the lobby a lot.
I also liked the room service and the restaurants very much in particular the Angler at the top which served the best fish i remember having in london. A very good place to go and relax. The price of the room at around 200 pounds for the business rate is also not too bad given that the internet and video on demand are all free. Also the hotel can arrange cars to take you to the airport which I was worried about but turned out to be good value at around 70 pounds for a mercedes four door.
Overall this is now my favourite hotel in london - just cant always book it :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experiences staying with us, it sounds like you are getting to know our facilities and our staff very well!

It's the ultimate compliment when guests choose to return, and we hope to welcome you back very soon. If there is ever anything we can do to further assist, please don't hesitate to ask!

Kind regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in London
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#65 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.