We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coolest hotel around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added South Place Hotel to your Saves list
South Place Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The coolest hotel around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now, once with my wife and also a couple of weeks ago for a birthday weekend with family. The hotel is just brilliant and caters for everything and everyone. We had two small children who absolutely loved it.

The rooms are just luxury, especially the bathrooms. I don't go to hotels to watch TV but how can you refuse when you have those TVs in your rooms?!

The bar is great and serves any cocktail you could imagine long into the night. Its one of those places where everything is right, all of the time. I will definitely be back, and looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

We're really glad you and your family had such a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    59
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
196
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but attended a meeting and had lunch here. Service was great and lunch was lovely except the portions could have been a bit bigger. Also would have been better if the outside bar had been open.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your lunch meeting at South Place. We're delighted that you enjoyed the space, the lunch and the service. I have shared your feedback on portion sizes with our Chef so that he is aware.

Unfortunately you caught our outside bar on a rare day that it wasn't open. However, now with the weather swiftly improving, you'll find our roof terrace and secret garden ready to welcome guests day and night - downpours and hurricanes notwithstanding.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a night's stay, or to enjoy a lunch meeting in the sun on our roof terrace.

Best regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

London hotels (at least the business type) just keep getting better and better
I have been fortunate to have spent at least 6 stays at the hotel since it opened in september. Initially it was super easy to get a room and now you have to book a couple of weeks in advance as it has become rightfully popular..
Firstly the uniquely good things here: the video on demand is all free (yay:P) and the bathrooms are excellent. Whilst the rooms are not big enough to have a separate rainforest shower, one is included as part of the huge bath. It is therefore almost as good as the real thing and allows for a slightly bigger bedroom. These are the best baths I have experienced in London. The tub itself was super wide and nice and deep - absolutely fantastic.
The bed was comfortable as well as the furniture in general and the internet was good.
The lobby of the hotel was very small as it to be expected with this type of hotel but like the Andaz and Apexes it was very nice. Overall i liked the lobby a lot.
I also liked the room service and the restaurants very much in particular the Angler at the top which served the best fish i remember having in london. A very good place to go and relax. The price of the room at around 200 pounds for the business rate is also not too bad given that the internet and video on demand are all free. Also the hotel can arrange cars to take you to the airport which I was worried about but turned out to be good value at around 70 pounds for a mercedes four door.
Overall this is now my favourite hotel in london - just cant always book it :(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experiences staying with us, it sounds like you are getting to know our facilities and our staff very well!

It's the ultimate compliment when guests choose to return, and we hope to welcome you back very soon. If there is ever anything we can do to further assist, please don't hesitate to ask!

Kind regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely Stay at the South Place Hotel for a birthday weekend, fabulous spacious room and comfy bed with the most modern bathroom with huge bath and twin rain shower heads, would highly recommend and would definitely like to stay here again soon. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I'm really pleased to read that you enjoyed your 21st birthday stay with us and found your room so comfortable. We hope that you'll return soon for another escape, perhaps for some cocktails on our roof terrace now that Spring is here.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this wonderfully modern and cool hotel. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by very attentive staff who then personally accompanied us the room to explain how the touch screen technology (lights,curtains etc) worked. Nice little touches like free Wifi and free movies on a Bang and olufsen tv all made the stay more enjoyable. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

The bar and restaurants were particularly smart in an understated way with some eclectic pieces of art work that enhanced the atmosphere.

Location was perfect, albeit in the financial district so the area was quiet you are literally a 3 minute walk from Liverpool Street station and less than 5 to 10 minutes away from the majority of the London attractions.

A big thanks to the staff they really made it a true 5 star experience, I will definitely be a returning customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback on your stay. It sounds like you had a very positive experience, which is delightfully as it should be!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, and to make south place your home away from home in London.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were going to Saddlers Wells which is very close to the hotel. It was odd being in the City at a weekend but the hotel Is close to some great places. We spent time in Brick Lane,Spittafields Market and the Shoreditch area which we have never done before - so we saw some interesting parts of London.

The staff at the hotel are excellent and the room was fabulous. Very top end design with a lovely big bath and great shower. We had Sunday lunch in the Brasserie which was excellent value - £10 extra for as much Prosecco as you like!! It wasn't very busy whilst we were there so there wasn't much of a buzz, but during the week it must be heaving!

Excellent value for money at the weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
How nice to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us, and took some time to explore the East End and enjoy a nice brunch with fizz!

We hope that you'll return to South Place for your next stay in London. We are slowly building up our reputation as a hotel for weekend escapes, so keep an eye on our website for a calendar of upcoming events, and keep an eye out for a growing buzz.

Thank you for taking a chance on a new and aspirational hotel.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed hotel, close to the Liverpool Street tube station on the Picadilly Line. When there was a problem with the room we originally booked (a twin room), the hotel generously gave us two rooms for the price of one. The rooms are exceptionally clean and thoughtfully designed (the design is modern). The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. At first, I was hesitant to book a room in the financial district, but I am glad I did. All the places we wanted to go were easily reached by Tube and this hotel was far nicer than hotels I've visited in tonier areas of town, like Knightsbridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay at South Place, its a great compliment to read that we stack up well against the West End offerings. We hope we can tempt you back to stay with us very soon, please don't hesitate to ask our team for recommendations for fantastic restaurants, galleries, shopping, markets and bars on our doorstep in the East End.

Best regards,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.