We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far, the best hotel experience I've had in many trips to London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Place Hotel to your Saves list
South Place Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“By far, the best hotel experience I've had in many trips to London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed hotel, close to the Liverpool Street tube station on the Picadilly Line. When there was a problem with the room we originally booked (a twin room), the hotel generously gave us two rooms for the price of one. The rooms are exceptionally clean and thoughtfully designed (the design is modern). The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. At first, I was hesitant to book a room in the financial district, but I am glad I did. All the places we wanted to go were easily reached by Tube and this hotel was far nicer than hotels I've visited in tonier areas of town, like Knightsbridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay at South Place, its a great compliment to read that we stack up well against the West End offerings. We hope we can tempt you back to stay with us very soon, please don't hesitate to ask our team for recommendations for fantastic restaurants, galleries, shopping, markets and bars on our doorstep in the East End.

Best regards,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    59
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
197
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for my family to stay in as I work nearby and know the area well, the room was fantastic- very high quality and well appointed. The ambience and design of the hotel is fab. The staff were good - not amazing as they didn't handle our minor but resolvable issues that well which is the reason it doesn't get full marks. First of all the toaster in the room - clearly someone thought this was a great idea but at the expense of a kettle? Madness. This would have been ok as room service did bring a kettle and then 2 cups and saucers (one at a time) but they then wanted to charge £5 per tea bag on the basis we were having a cup of tea in the room....it does beg the question how much do they charge for bread for the toaster? The second gripe was that we went out for the day at 10am asking that the room be made up....we then came back at 5pm tired and cold and in need of a rest to find the maid in the room making it up....30mins in the lobby then waiting for her to do a job that should have been done hours before and unable to use our room. This was on a sunday night and the hotel was quiet. The duty manager was not available and was supposed to come and speak to us later that evening after the manager in the bar didn't have a clue how to deal with tired and irritated guests. The restaurant was great - and comes recommended and I may well take clients there, but I am slightly wary that whilst everything is ok the staff are great but I didn't come away with confidence that they know how to deal with even minor incidents.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments. As the hotel is still in its infancy, feedback like yours is vital in refining our offering.

We do have tea-making facilities available upon request from the Front Desk, on a complimentary basis, and I apologise for the confusion surrounding this matter.

I would very much like to liaise with you personally in the hope that we can make your next stay more comfortable. Please feel free to contact me directly on sarahb@southplacehotel.com.

Kind regards,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva on the Lake, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have now stayed at South Place 5 times since it opened and it just gets better and better. The rooms are well thought out and very comfortable with just the right amount of lux. Both restaurants really deliver - different - Angler a bit more swanky and where you might take a good client and the downstairs brasserie excellent at any time of day. Have eaten alone in the brasserie many times and the staff just make you feel so welcome.
In fact if I had to mention one outstanding feature of this hotel it would be the staff.
Absolutely everyone is friendly, warm and welcoming finding time to stop for a little personalised chat whilst remaining utterly professional.
There's no doubt about it this is the very best hotel in the City by a long way - the only snag is it's got so good it's hard to book a room nowadays!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your frequent custom, feedback from our returning guests is wonderful to have! We're especially pleased to see that you've tried both of our restaurants and had such positive experiences with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and that we continue to live up to your expectations! If there is anything we can do to improve our service, please do not hesitate to let us know!

Best regards,
Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is different. Manikens with cut off hands and heads in restaurant area looked strange to me, but style is different indeed.
Can someone explain to me - why in the room we had a toaster?
At the reception desk on arrival girl offered to come in to the room after 10 minutes and show us around- that was strange, but later I understood why this was needed (We declined her offer :) ).
Room was cozy, smaller than expected. Everything was well hidden (had trouble looking for hairdryer), everything was controlled by electric sensors - even a window curtain. At first we even thought that we got room without window!!!
Bed was the best thing I ever slept on :)))

And another stranger thing - hotel is in busy area, so having to wait to be served at the restaurant during breakfast was inconvenient, why do that? Food was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
How fantastic that you enjoyed our hotel and had a great sleep.

The reason for a toaster in each room is so that when guests order breakfast from room service, the bread is freshly toasted and hot.

Upon your next visit, just let us know if you'd like our Front Desk team to show you how to operate any of the technology. There are special music mixes in the televisions for you, and more.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the moment you walk in to South Place Hotel you can feel this place is different. From the decor to the ambience, you almost feel like you've landed in New York and this is the place to be. The lounge and bar are a great place to grab a drink and chat before dinner; the delicious cocktails make the evening fly by. The hotel has two restaurants, and we had a great experience at both of them. The rooms are a decent size for London and the finishing are very luxurious. This is exactly how a hotel should be and we'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: High floor is best to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on our restaurants, cocktails and ambience! We do hope that you return to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for a Sat night and it's an excellent place to stay. Staff are great. The rooms are really very lovely indeed. The spa area a gorgeous treat, the Sauna and steam room worth a visit.
Breakfast was very good indeed. I would definatley recommend and will definately be using this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and explore the hotel's amenities such as the spa. We hope to welcome you back for a relaxing escape very soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed on a weekday night with a partner and what a place to stay.

Lovely room with a great bathroom ( with separate shower) and soap, shampoo, bubble bath to die for - amazing smell and great sized containers. I have stayed in a lot of of London hotels and this clearly is better than most others.

Why is it better:

Location - right in the heart of the City and close to Moorgate and LKiverpool St tubes

Rooms- great spacious rooms with bathrooms

Atmosphere - great roof top bar with blankets for cold winter nights

Hard to fault and worth choosing for a business or personal stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at South Place, so pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed the luxurious bedrooms and amenities.

We hope that you'll return to stay with us soon and soak up some sun on our roof terrace very soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.