We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added South Place Hotel to your Saves list
South Place Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Leuven
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“total package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A few months ago London was calling! It was time to put our frequent traveling to NYC on hold and explore some other metropolises. London it was. So first thing to do: pick a hotel. Not easy because I am a pretty demanding traveller. To me a hotel has got to have a distinctive personality and above all, the service is crucial to me. After elaborate research we chose South Place hotel, located in-between the East-end and the city.

First impression: Impressive! When you walk into the hotel a friendly attentive doorman greats you with a genuine smile. He opens the massive glass doors for you and the first thing that hits you is the unique hotel scent. That is something that definitely makes me smile. Check-in went smooth and easy, it was 11am and our room was ready. Big score, South Place hotel! Okay now the room, was it as remarkable as the overall design of the hotel? Well, yes and no. The marble bathroom is drop dead gorgeous. I am talking about a rain shower, huge bathtub, a double sink, enough storage space, attractive amenities. Do I need to go on? The design of the bedroom is clean and modern, but cosy and soothing at the same time. Although I loved the whimsical facilities and details (B&O tv, local art, stationery, sofa...), I missed an explicate and unique personality! Something that made the room even more exceptional, like the rest of the venue.

But wait, South Place hotel has so much more, it is a complete package. I fell in love with the bar and the restaurant on the ground floor. Perfect hide away to dine and unwind. And they have a secret hideaway too, Le Chiffre which is only accessible to hotel guests and locals. But this space completely misses its purpose, it's not a cozy retreat where guests want to be. Nope, it is pretty deserted and the vibe, well actually there is no vibe at all! Maybe it is its location on the first floor, too far away from the lively atmosphere of the bar.

My overall experience was a wow experience! South Place hotel is a remarkable hotel that understands the importance of details: the uniforms of the hotel staff, a doorman that picks up the cigarettes from the pavement, the scent, the lighting, the art, the food, ...! Yes, we found our London home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Delighted to hear you had such a positive stay with us. We are pleased to know you found the room a delight and made good use of our social atmosphere on the ground floor for dining and drinks.

As for Le Chiffre - your comments are spot on. In February we are introducing a 'Members Club' that will bring more life to this room and the Garden Bar, putting guests in contact with a smattering of locals that are well-connected creatives, entrepreneurs, and local business people.

We are thrilled you chose South Place Hotel for your stay in London and look forward to welcoming you back to see if you feel things are even better than the first time.

Best regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    58
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
196
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at this fabulously stylish hotel this weekend, and wanted to take the time to tell the world just how good it is.
Reception staff were incredibly polite and welcoming and our check in was swift...we were shown to our room where I let out a small scream of delight when I saw it.
Enormous king size bed, with incredible flat screen tv and radio available. Good decor and lighting was impressive.
Bathroom was huge and slick. double sinks and showers! Amazing toiletries in abundance too.

Just gorgeous interior...
House keeping were very attentive and professional. It was just a dream.

I ate in the restaurant and had 3 course lunch with glass of wine for £15. A real bargain and good quality.

Gym, steam and sauna on site. There isnt a pool, but the reception staff said we could use a pool from an adjacent fitness centre.

The attention to detail was impressive, and was just a great stay in the heart of london.
some 3 mins walk from Liverpool street and the tube, ideally situated and just a pleasant and refreshing stay,

well done to all the team for assisting us with a glorious weekend.

will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback on South Place. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your giant bed, tasty food, and had a relaxing stay. We hope to see you back in the heart of London with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here as a surprise treat for my boyfriend at the end of November. I managed to get a good deal on the hotel and was very pleased with the size of room and bed. Very comfortable bed and extremely soft and lovely pillows. Bathroom was also enormous. Huge bathtub and a twin shower.
Absolutely love the furniture in the hotel and all the quirky design details. Can totally recommend the games room area (which seems to have a James Bond theme).
Restaurant served good food too. Had a lovely steak.
Location is not as central as some, but as we know and live in London anyway, it was just nice to experience a London stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay at South Place, we’re so pleased that you chose us for your London ‘Staycation’ and that you enjoyed the food, the beds and the design details.

We have introduced an Offers page on our website that highlights our best deals, it would be our pleasure to welcome you both back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A great two week stay just before Christmas. The common areas were comfortable, eclectic and fresh with an obvious attention to detail. Execution was surprisingly clean and seamless.My room decor was also a well conceived blend of traditional and modern with subtle, quality touches. The bed and high thread-count linens were some of the most comfortable I have experienced at a hotel. Housekeeping and the turn-down service were top notch.Internet access was solid. While the hotel is new and innovative and the room comfortable what really sets South Place Hotel apart were the staff, the bars and the restaurants. To a person, the staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. I had absolutely no issues at all. All three bars were very popular and I found them a great place to meet people (I had a great time!). The bars were often very busy due to the regular after work crowd combined with the pre- and post-Christmas party goers. Despite the heavy volume, the bar staff provided prompt, courteous and accurate service. When not busy, I found the bar staff to be very pleasant and friendly. These are cocktail bars with beer available by bottle only. That said, the bartenders were very good mixologists and knowledgeable about their craft and ingredients. In the hotel I ate at the '3 South Place' restaurant. To find a restaurant this good in a boutique hotel was an added bonus. The food quality exceeded expectations and presentation was nice without being pretentious. The Angler restaurant was busy with parties on the nights I tried to eat there - maybe next time. There are also a number of good restaurants and bars in the area if you want to get out. The exercise facilities are basic but nice and the equipment is of good quality.

Two weeks in any hotel is a challenge but the staff made me feel like a welcome guest from check-in through check-out. I would definitely recommend a stay at the South Place Hotel or even just a visit to the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Paul,

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at South Place Hotel, particularly as you were with us for a longer duration and in one of our busiest times. It's especially useful feedback that you spent time in our bars and restaurants and were given good service and a taste of London's energy.

Our staff enjoyed your company and we hope to welcome back to stay with us the next time you’re in London.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

A terrific 3 night stay over New Year..
Great food, service and extremely helpful plus excellent customer awareness!!
Looking forward to our return !
New years eve dinner was also exceptional!.
Top quality bathroom

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for spending your New Year with us, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your stay! We have plans for quite a few special weekends in 2013 and hope that you'll return to South Place for some more lovely escapes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Modern, cool design, but not over-hip. The service is really good, everyone was helpful and cheerful. The room leaves nithing to be desired: very comfortable bed, spacious layout, a spa-like bathroom. Oh, and the minibar features fresh limes, lemons and a knife.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
How lovely that you had such a positive experience at South Place and appreciated all of the detailed touches. We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again soon, it would be our pleasure to look after you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I work around the area and had a Christmas function nearby and an early breakfast meeting the next morning so decided to sleep locally.

Been to the hotel several times for drinks at the bar (love the first floow bar) but never thought I'd be staying so local.

Hotel is a very well designed with a unique modern twist but simple and welcoming at the same time. If you like high tech rooms, this is a treat as well. The oversize bath is great with the rain shower. Just a very inviting and comfortable place to be.

The only complain I have was that when I checked in during the afternoon, it wasn't busy but only one staff was at the desk who was on the phone with a guest. Two other members came to the desk (assume busy with other task) but didn't even greet me or let me know they won't be long. When the girl was off the phone, she was trying to check me and another guest in at the same time which wasn't very pleasant as she was rushing but she was polite.

I think the toaster should be taken off all rooms, alarm went off at 1.30 because someone burnt their toast. I had just fallen asleep!

Overall still love the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for taking a chance and coming to stay with us, great to hear that you found our rooms comfortable. It's very unfortunate that you were kept waiting at Reception and that there was an early morning fire alarm, we certainly hope it wasn't from the burning toast! I will make sure your feedback is shared with our team for future.

We hope that you return to stay with us again and we will endeavour to make your second stay with us flawless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.