We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't tell anyone! Good value, comfortable rooms close to the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitechapel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Whitechapel Hotel to your Saves list
The Whitechapel Hotel
49 - 53 New Road, London E1 1HH, England (East End / East London)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't tell anyone! Good value, comfortable rooms close to the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Do I really want to write about a gem in the east end of London ... it might become too popular and force the prices up!?

The Whitechapel is a hotel that I have used for the last two weeks and have been very impressed by; so
much so I am going to become a regular!

It is a small boutique hotel a short walk from Whitechapel tube or 15mims walk from Liverpool St
station. the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented; the hotel is only four months old - I am really hoping they maintain the standard. I have stayed in a single room and a small double - they are not big in size, but huge in value, including all the usual facilities with tv, minibar, kettle and wet room showers etc.. The hotel also provides complimentary internet access. The hotel and minibar is "dry", so if they remove the chocolate and peanuts, it could be a health retreat!

The staff are really friendly and obliging (e.g. when you need an iron), so too are the staff of the Sahara restaurant downstairs where fresh grilled food is offered at reasonable price ... and if you like a curry the well renowned Lahore Kebab house is just round the corner.

Room Tip: I head someone ask for a room away from the lift ... I have never heard the lift. If you are partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    51
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
33
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ive stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks.
First
it's 5 mins walk from the tube
on the doorstep of the city-
It's clean (exceptionally)
Funky-they must have had a freat architect
nice bathrooms
good towels
lovely artemide lighting
great beds
the staff are a delight
it's the best bargain around
just superb in a cynical age of over priced london hotels and poor service.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger than others-but at this price who cares!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night while in London for a conference. Met by friendly staff where checking in took seconds. Room itself was super. Very good value and comfortable. Food in the restaurant down stairs was very appetising with good and helpful service. Will definitely be using again when next in London.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

When we were in London to see the Rolling Stones, we decided to sleep at the Whitechapel. People were very friendly and the place was more than clean. Prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I also would like to share with my experience after staying at the whitechapel hotel, was t i spent there quite nice 3 days, me and my fr syaoriginally booked premier twin room, but we have more luck and had been upgraded to executive twin so it was really nice suprise for us hotel is really modern and clean, beds are comfortable, but are too short, so it is not comforatble for tall people , I decided no to order breakfast because they charge too much for it i also would like to thank reception Girls fro, Poland were wonderful, very helpful, i often came to reception with some inguiries, and they never ignored me borrowed an adaptor They had really good customer service skills, and could go extra miles with the guests

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a business trip to London. Couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. It's a tad off the beaten track but a really nice hotel. Couldn't fault the service and the breakfast is superb. Try the orange juice, it's freshly squeezed and taste like sunshine in a glass.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I gotta chance to stay 21/11/2012 . the hotel receptionist name was nasmin she is very roode to me she don't knw how to treat the customer I'm very upset I asked some question she didn't giv me the proper answers and I want to try the break first it was serving downstairs I waiting more than ten mi minutes for the menu. I saw the waiter who was smoking out side when I go down.later the waiter came to me then when he take the order I can feel the cigarette smell. Food was ok but service was very bad. They try to fix these problems other wise not good for new business for me this holiday waste of money I never come back again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whitechapel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitechapel Hotel

Address: 49 - 53 New Road, London E1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitechapel is a new boutique hotel in the heart of London's East End. The twenty-four room hotel is situated close to the galleries of Shoreditch and the bustle of Brick Lane and Spitalfields Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Whitechapel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whitechapel Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitechapel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.