We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very peculiar experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White House Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added White House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
41 Rosaline Road | Fulham, London SW6 7QS , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very peculiar experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The B&B is located in a residental area, at about 15 minute (20 with heavy luggage) walking distance from the closest tube station. It has 2 rooms for guests - one on a separate floor with en suite bathroom and one wall to wall with the owner´room with private bathroom over the corridor.

Pros:
- Quite cheap for London standards
- Owner is very responsive via email and offers a pick-up service from the airport (at an extra charge)
- The owner is very chatty and entertaining. You won't feel lonely at breakfast.
- There is a very nice Italian restaurant next door.

Cons:
- The owner sets the rules. Some examples:
1) The guests may chose between breakfast at 8 or 8:30am. Make sure you are an early bird during your holidays...
2) For breakfast, you may choose between one croissant or one slice of toast. If you wish to have more, you need to ask for every slice at a time. Btw: The comment of an earlier guest that the breakfast was all organic seems to be outdated. We had a normal Tesco breakfast.
3) The private bath room is fully carpeted. So make sure you don't spill any water. This goes particularly for the bath tub (no shower, no curtain), which is only to be used sitting.

- If you happen to get the room with the separate bathroom, the owner lives literally next door. As the walls are not the thickest in the world, better forget about privacy during your holidays.

- The room is tiny. If you bring two suitcases, make sure to plan well when you want to open one of them. There is no place for both at the same time and let alone to move inside the room. And don't be surprised if your shins are sore after your stay. There has been at least one other guest (me!) who hit it five times in two days at the edge of the bed...

Conclusion:
- Perhaps it is a matter of personal preference, but we did not feel comfortable, relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the en-suite bathroom, if you would like to stay in this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Loved this B&B - we stayed last summer and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The room (along with the rest of the house) was very clean, large and stylishly decorated. Breakfast was delicious, fresh warm croissants...along with organic yogurts, fresh juice, cereals, toast, cheese and fruit etc. Anna is very well travelled, interesting and good fun, she was utterly charming throughout and gave us a very warm welcome, she was very helpful throughout our stay offering great advice and tips on where to visit. Will definitely be back on our next trip to London. Thank you :))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this B&B within the last month. I found the hostess to be overbearing and controlling; she will start racist political arguments at breakfast and insist that you are out of the house by 10:00 a.m. or give you guilt trips. Her much-touted interior decorator skills have resulted in cheap furniture placed in tiny rooms. In her own words: "Oh, you brought two suitcases. Well, you will have to leave one in the bathroom downstairs, then, because the room is not big enough for two."

There are two choices for bedrooms: either separate bathroom and toilet (which are separate from each other), or a shower/bathroom in the room but no door for privacy.

All-in-all, this was a distinctly unpleasant experience and will not be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First off the good points, great location in central London for under 100 pounds, beautiful and quiet neighborhood, very good continental breakfast, extremely clean rooms, tube station is an easy 10-15 min walk (Parsons Green). This isn't a touristy part of London, so you feel like a local, and that is what I wanted to experience. The negative points, the double room we stayed in for one week was very small, the private bathroom and toilet is not en-suite, so you can't just pop out in your nightgown as other guests and the owner use the hallway. You also can't lock your room upon leaving. Unlike a larger B & B or Guesthouse, where the owner might live in a seperate part of the house, the owner lives in close quarters with you. She also has many rules, make sure you are out everyday by 10 am and lock the front door properly! I didn't feel like we could come and go as we pleased, like in many places I have stayed. Honestly by the second day I wanted to leave, but as you have pay cash up front upon arrival, we had to stick it out.

If you are looking for a clean place to stay that is affordable for just a night or two, this will do for you. But if you are staying in London for longer, want a spacious, comfortable place with a feeling of privacy, look elsewhere. I will not be returning....

Room Tip: Pick the twin room for more privacy and room, if you choose this Bed and Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Last November, my husband and i with another couple, visited London. We do not like hotels for accomodation so we will try to find a b&b in a good neighborhood. I think we did it. The white house b&b is not in the centre of London but in a suburb called Fulham, just 10 minutes away from the centre by train. The neighborhood is fantastic with beautiful houses like the white house we stayed. The hostess, Anna, was very funny and helpful..Every morning she was preparing breakfast for us and told us so many stories for her life. The breakfast was very good and i still remember the deliciοus goat cheese. The white house had two rooms, one in the first floor and the other in the loft. Both of the rooms were very beautiful with a minimal decoration and they cleaned every day. London is not my favourite destination but in the white house b&b you have to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 41 Rosaline Road | Fulham, London SW6 7QS , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
White House Bed And Breakfast London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.