We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic fever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Stadium

Olympic Stadium
Loop Road | Stratford, London E20 2ST, England
+44 845 267 2012
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 2,327 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Olympic fever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everyone thought the 2012 London Olympics would be overpriced, overrated and generally not very good. Of course, they were wrong!

This is the site of the spectacular opening and closing ceremonies of the last Olympic and Paralympic games, as well as the venue for athletics too. It is huge - you'll see that when you get inside, how wide it really is. Well worth a look here and around the Olympic village too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    149
    55
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What an incredible experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were lucky enough to buy some tickets for the closing ceremony of the Parra Olympics and although expensive it was worth every penny to be present at this incredible spectacular.
We have been to so many places and seen some wonderful things but we would rank this experience at the top of our list. The atmosphere really made us finally proud to be British.
Well done all the athletes and organisers.
Its such a shame that the venue is no being ripped apart . Why was it not all kept intact and used as a British centre of excellence and training for our athletes of all sports and not just football?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Herts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Expensive but impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Currently the only way to visit the park is a bus trip. We met close to the Pudding Mill Lane DLR station - the office is a short walk from the station so I would allow 10 minutes. I bought tickets online and once we arrived these were quickly scanned. Toilet facilities are provided at the office and also inside the Orbital tower.
Rather theatrical and unnecessary luminious jackets and hard hats were given out but were not compulsory. A 3 minute bus ride took us into the site to the Orbit Tower. We were not allowed anywhere else on the site, but the bus hostess gave an interesting talk as we drove in and out.
Inside the tower a lift took us to the top viewing platform. It was fantastic - we could look straight down into the stadium and we could see for miles. We spent nearly an hour it the tower, looking at the views and the two displays that were on the top and second floors.
Although expensive at £15 per adult, it was a worthwhile trip and one that my whole family will remember. We all loved it.
Choose a bright clear day or you will be disappointed. I have a fear of heights but this was not a scarey tower. Give it a go!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Interesting to see where (some of) the money went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Currently no access for tourists, but viewing is available from the top of John Lewis department store, giving a view of the outside of the stadium and the weird helter-skelter thing beside it. the Stratford shops and food markets are more interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not worth a visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the stadium was very dissapointing it was just a coach ride from a to b the orbit was ok but at the moment not worth the entrance fee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.